

## PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

Review of Division 3 of Part III of the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation Act 1979

## PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 23 May 2024

## Committee Room 2R1 Canberra

Time	Witness
9.15 am	Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (Submission 3) The Hon Dr Christopher Jessup KC, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Paul Cronan AM, A/g Deputy Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Chris Brookes, Assistant Inspector-General, Agency Oversight
10.00 am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 4) Ms Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner Ms Melissa De Abreu, Senior Lawyer (Via Video Conference)
10.45 am	Via Video Conference: Law Council of Australia (Submission 8) Mr Lloyd Babb SC, Chair, National Security Law Working Group Mr Nathan MacDonald, Deputy General Manager of Policy Ms Sophie Callan SC, Member, National Security Law Working Group
11.30 am	Break
1.00 pm	Australian Federal Police (Submission 7) A/G Assistant Commissioner Stephen Nutt, Counter-Terrorism and Special Investigations
	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (Submission 1) Mr Mike Burgess, Director-General, Security
	Department of Home Affairs (Submission 2) Mr Nathan Smyth, Deputy Secretary, National Security and Resilience Mr James Robinson, A/g First Assistant Secretary, National Security Division
3.00 pm	Close