

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Fair Work Legislation Amendment (Closing Loopholes No.2) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 31 October 2023

Amateur's Lounge Callaghan Park Jockey Club, Reaney Street Rockhampton

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Mining and Energy Union - QLD District Mr Mitch Hughes, Acting District President Mr Simon West, Coal mine worker and MEU member Mr Brodie Allen, Coal mine worker and MEU member Mr Dwayne Arnold, Coal mine worker and MEU member Mr Scott Mearse, Coal mine worker and MEU member
9.45 am	Isaac Regional Council (via teleconference) Ms Anne Baker, Mayor Ms Kelly VeaVea, Deputy Mayor
10.30 am	BHP (Submission 44) Mr Nicholas Park, Vice President Government Relations Mr Dinesh Bishop, Vice President Finance Minerals Australia Mr Stephen Smith, Group Employee Relations Officer Mr Matthew Furrer, Vice President Operations Services
11.15 am	Break
11.30 am	Australasian Meat Industry Employees Union (Submission 41) Mr Matthew Journeaux, Federal Secretary Australasian Meat Industry Employees' Union Mr Greville Sexton, Workplace Delegate Mr Stuart Shanks, Workplace Delegate Mr George Ale Burue, Meatworker Mr George Ale Burue, Meatworker Mr Hendry Jude, Meatworker Electrical Trades Union (Submission 61)
	Mr Trevor Gauld, National Policy Officer
12.15 pm	Qantas Mr Nathan Safe, Acting Executive Manager, Industrial Relations Ms Natalie Thomason, Head of People QA Operations
1.15 pm	Lunch

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE
Fair Work Legislation Amendment (Closing Loopholes No.2) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

2.15 pm	Australian Resources and Energy Employer Association (AREEA) (Submission 128) Mr Tom Reid, Director Industry & Advocacy Business Chamber Queensland (Submission 46) Ms Heidi Cooper, Chief Executive Officer
3.00 pm	Australian Meat Industry Council (Submission 65) Ms Cheryl Wolens, General Manager, Workforce Services Master Grocers Australia Ltd (MGA) (Submission 84) Mr Martin Stirling, Head of Legal Mr Terry Slaughter, Director on the Board of MGA Australian Hotels Association (Submission 59) Mr Stephen Ferguson, National Chief Executive Officer Ms Sarah Swan, Co-National Director Legal and Industrial Ms Melissa Butters, Co-National Director Legal and Industrial
3.45 pm	Break
4.00 pm	Protech Ms Natalie Stewart, General Manager, People and Quality Workpac Mr Hamish Griffin, Chief Executive Officer Mr Cameron Hockaday, Chief Commercial & Risk Officer
4.45 pm	Mr Sam Stephens (Submission 155)
	Mr Simon Turner (Submission 156)
5.15 pm	Adjournment