

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Legalising Cannabis Bill 2023

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 21 February 2024

Hyatt Regency Hotel 72 Queen Street, Brisbane

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Australian Lawyers Alliance (via teleconference) (Submission 8) Mr Shaun Marcus, National President Mr Greg Barns SC, National Criminal Justice Chair and Past President
9.45 am	Families & Friends for Drug Law Reform (via teleconference) (Submission 25) Mr William Bush, President Dr Adele Stevens, Committee Member
10.15 am	Morning tea
10.30 am	Professor Jenny Williams, Department of Economics, University of Melbourne
11.15 am	Australian Medical Association (via teleconference) (Submission 16) Dr Michael Bonning, Chair, Public Health Committee
12.00 pm	Panel: Plant Playground (Submission 17) Ms Sasha Lai, Director Ganjika Pty Ltd (Submission 21)
	Ms Malini Sietaram, Founder and CEO
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Panel: Dalgarno Institute (via teleconference) (Submission 3) Mr Shane Varcoe, Executive Director Professor John Toumbourou, Associate Dean, Chair in Health Psychology, Deakin University
	Drug Policy Modelling Program, Social Policy Research Centre (via teleconference) (Submission 19) Dr Paul Kelaita, Postdoctoral Fellow Ms Liz Barrett, Research Officer Ms Michala Kowalski, Research Officer (via teleconference)
	Penington Institute (via teleconference) (Submission 13) Mr John Ryan, Chief Executive Officer Mr Jake Dizard, Senior Research Officer

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Legalising Cannabis Bill 2023

2.30 pm	360Edge (via teleconference) (Submission 12) Professor Nicole Lee, Founder and CEO
3.00 pm	Afternoon tea
3.15 pm	Professor Patrick Keyzer (via teleconference)
4.00 pm	Panel: Department of Health and Aged Care (via teleconference) Mr Nick Henderson, First Assistant Secretary, Medicines Regulation Division Mr Chris Bedford, A/g First Assistant Secretary, Regulatory Practice and Support Professor Robyn Langham, Chief Medical Advisor Ms Kristy Tomas, Director, International Regulatory Branch, Medicines Regulation Division Ms Petra Bismire, Acting Assistant Secretary, International Regulatory Branch Ms Danielle Chifley, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Drug Control Ms Sukanya Lingaratnam, Policy and Reforms Advisor Ms Debra Phillips, International Regulatory Branch Attorney-General's Department (via teleconference) Mr Alex Engel, Assistant Secretary, Transnational Crime Branch Ms Stephanie Cairney, Assistant Director, Illicit Drugs Policy Department of Home Affairs (via teleconference) (Submission 14) Mr Tony Smith, Assistant Commissioner, Australian Border Force
5.00 pm	Adjournment