

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Water Amendment (Restoring Our Rivers) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 1 November 2023

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Lifeblood Alliance (Submission 90) Dr Anne Jensen, Member (via videoconference) Ms Juliet Le Feuvre, Member(via videoconference)
	Inland Rivers Network (Submission 17) Ms Beverley Smiles, President (via videoconference)
9.30 am	Nature Conservation Council of NSW Ms Melissa Gray, Water Campaigner, Community Organiser
	Environment Victoria Mr Jono La Nauze, Chief Executive Officer Mr Tyler Rotche, Healthy Rivers Campaigner
	Conservation Council SA Mr Craig Wilkins, Chief Executive Officer
10.10 am	Ms Kate Harriden, Research fellow - private capacity (Submission 49)
10.35 am	Professor Michael (Ghillar) Anderson, private capacity (via videoconference)
	Ms Sonia Cooper, Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation
11.15 am	Break
11.30 am	Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations (Submission 54) Mr Grant Rigney, Chair (via videoconference) Mr Will Mooney, Project Manager (via videoconference)
12.00 pm	Murray Darling Association Inc. (Submission 84) Mr Mark Lamb, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference)

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Water Amendment (Restoring Our Rivers) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

12.25 pm	Goulburn Murray Irrigation District (GMID) Water Leadership Forum (Submis
	sion 83) Mr David McKenzie, Co-Chair
	Mr Rob Priestly, Member
	Ms Suzanna Sheed, Co-Chair
	Murray Regional Strategy Group (Submission 15) Mrs Louise Burge, Board member, Executive Committee
	Narrabri Industrial Network (Submission 117) Mr Justin Smith, President (via videoconference) Ms Kodey Stanford, Business Development Manager (via videoconference) Mr Daniel Kahl, Member (via videoconference) Mr Jamie Condon, Member (via videoconference)
12.55 pm	Lunch Break
1.25 pm	Australian Competition and Consumer Commission Mr Michael Keogh, Deputy Chair Mr David Salisbury, General Manager, Small Business and Agriculture
	Bureau of Meteorology (Submission 28) Mr Matthew Coulton, General Manager, Program Design Branch Mrs Angela De Duonni, Acting Section Manager, Water Regulations and Standards
2.00 pm	SPC Mr Hussein Hani Rifai, Chairman
	Australian Dairy Products Federation Ms Janine Waller, Executive Director Mr Jason Limbrick, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Consolidated Milk
	SunRice Mr Paul Serra, Group Chief Executive Officer Mr Nicholas Gary Bould, Farmer
2.35 pm	Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (Submission 30) Mr Craig Rosner-Moore, Acting First Assistant Secretary – Agricultural Policy
	Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences Mr Jared Greenville, Executive Director Mr David Galeano, Assistant Secretary, Natural Resources
3.15 pm	Break
3.30 pm	Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder (Submission 34) Dr Simon Banks, Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder Mr Hilary Johnson, Branch Head
	Murray Darling Basin Authority (Submission 11) Mr Andrew McConville, Chief Executive
	Mr Tim Goodes, Executive Director, Basin Plan Portfolio Ms Megan Winter, General Manager, Basin Plan Implementation
	1715 1716 guir 17 miter, Ocherar Manager, Dasin Fran Implementation

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Water Amendment (Restoring Our Rivers) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

4.10 pm	Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water (Submissio
	n 47
	Ms Lyn O'Connell, Deputy Secretary
	Ms Rachel Connell, Division Head, Water Reform Division
	Mr Matthew Dadswell, Division Head, Water Policy Division
	Ms Emma Solomon, Branch Head, Water Markets and regulatory policy branch
	Mr Dan Croucher, Branch Head, Program Design Branch (via videoconference)
5.05 pm	Adjournment