

JOINT COMMITTEES

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE

Inquiry into Australia's tourism and international education sectors

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 16 May 2023

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Roundtable: Quality and Integrity Hon Mr Phil Honeywood, Chief Executive Officer, International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) Mr Menelaos (Mel) Koumides, Managing Director, Australian Academy of Vocational Education and Trades Pty Ltd t/as Academia International Ms Christina Bolger, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) Ms Kellie Spence, Executive Director, Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) Mr Alistair Maclean, Chief Executive Officer, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) Ms Jenny Dodd, Chief Executive Officer, TAFE Directors Australia Ms Klara Major, Assistant Director, Industry Investigations Team, Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman Ms Emma Cotterill, Senior Assistant Ombudsman – Investigations, Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman Ms Alison Garrod, Assistant Secretary, Temporary Visas Program Branch, Department of Home Affairs Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division, Department of Education Ms Alison Cleary, A/g Assistant Secretary, International Quality Branch, Department of Education Ms Rachel Lloyd, Assistant Secretary, International Policy Branch, Department of Education
10.00 am	Break
10.15 am	Roundtable: Marketing to International Students Mr Jay Meek, General Manager Trade, Trade and Investment, Austrade Mrs Helen Kronberger, Senior Global Engagement Manager, Trade and Investment, Austrade Ms Jessica Hamilton, General Manager, Communication & Marketing, Austrade Mrs Melissa Banks, Head of International Education, Austrade Mr Felix Pirie, Deputy Chief Executive, Policy & Research, Independent Tertiary Education Council Australia (ITECA) Hon Mr Phil Honeywood, Chief Executive Officer, International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) Mrs Saskia Loer Hansen, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, International & Engagement, RMIT University Mrs Derryn Belford, Chief Executive Officer, StudyPerth
12.00 pm	Adjourn

Committee Chair: Hon Shayne Neumann MP