

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE

Inquiry into Australia's tourism and international education sectors

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 15 May 2023

Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Roundtable: International Education Data Insights Ms Lisa Bolton, Director, QILT Research and Strategy, Social Research Centre Mr Simon Walker, Managing Director, National Centre for Vocational Education Research Mr Jeffrey Smart, Director & Co-Founder, The Lygon Group Dr Angela Lehmann, Head of Research, The Lygon Group Ms Varsha Devi Balakrishnan, Head of Student Insights and Strategy, The Lygon Group Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division, Department of Education Ms Alison Cleary, Acting Assistant Secretary, International Quality Branch, Department of Education Ms Rachel Lloyd Assistant Secretary, International Policy Branch, Department of Education
9.30 am	Roundtable: Education Agents Mr Robert Parsonson, Executive Officer, International Student Education Agents Association Ms Sharon Cook, National President, ISANA International Education Association Ms Danielle Hartridge, Vice President Professional Development, ISANA International Education Association, Department of Home Affairs Ms Kim Dienhoff Head of Government Relations, IDP Education Ms Jane Li, Area Director Australasia, IDP Education Ms Bronwyn Markey, Senior Professional Services Manager, Migration Institute of Australia (MIA) Ms Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive, Universities Australia Hon Mr Phil Honeywood, Chief Executive Officer, International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) Mr Charlie Shandil, Assistant Secretary, Immigration Policy & Planning Branch, Department of Home Affairs Ms Alison Garrod, Assistant Secretary, Temporary Visas Program Branch, Department of Home Affairs Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division, Department of Education Ms Alison Cleary, A/g Assistant Secretary, International Quality Branch, Department of Education Ms Rachel Lloyd Assistant Secretary, International Policy Branch, Department of Education
11.00 am	Break

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE Inquiry into Australia's tourism and international education sectors

11.15 am	Roundtable: Work Integrated Learning, Skilled Work and Graduates Ms Anna Faithfull, Deputy Secretary, Skills and Training Group, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations/ Australian Apprenticeship Support Network Ms Laura Angus, First Assistant Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations/ Australian Apprenticeship Support Network Mr Cliff Bingham, Assistant Secretary, Jobs and Skills Australia Professor Peter Dawkins, Director, Jobs and Skills Australia Ms Alison Garrod, Assistant Secretary, Temporary Visas Program Branch, Department of Home Affairs Hon Mr Phil Honeywood, Chief Executive Officer, International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) Mr Robert Thomason, Executive Director, VETASSESS Professor Denise Jackson, President, Australian Collaborative Education Network (ACEN) Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division, Department of Education Ms Alison Cleary, A/g Assistant Secretary, International Quality Branch, Department of Education Ms Rachel Lloyd Assistant Secretary, International Policy Branch, Department of Education
12.30 pm	Break
1.30 pm	Roundtable: Innovation, Transnational, Diversity and Hybrid Futures Ms Claire Field, Private Capacity Mr David Linke, Managing Director, EduGrowth Ms Marnie Watson, Chief Commercial Officer, Acumen (Part of Sannam S4Group) Mr Jonathan Chew, Global Head of Insights and Analytics, Navitas Mr Simon Finn, Head of Strategic Engagement and Government Relations, Navitas Mr John Molony, Vice President, International, Deakin University Hon Mr Phil Honeywood, Chief Executive Officer, International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division, Department of Education Ms Rachel Lloyd, Assistant Secretary, International Policy Branch, Department of Education Ms Elizabeth Wilde, First Assistant Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Mr Aedan Whyatt, Assistant Secretary, Global Programs and Partnerships Branch, Development Policy Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Ms Edwina Betts, A/g Assistant Secretary, Education and Integration Branch, Office of the Pacific, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Mr Luke Hartley, Assistant Director, Global Programs and Partnerships Branch, Development, Policy Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Ms Melissa Banks, Head of International Education Centre of Excellence, Austrade Mrs Helen Kronberger, Manager International Education (Global Engagement), Austrade
2.45 pm	Break

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE Inquiry into Australia's tourism and international education sectors

3.00 pm	Roundtable: Soft Power and Building Resilience Dr Joanne Barker, Private Capacity Ms Susannah Patton, Chief Executive Officer, International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) Mrs Elizabeth Wilde, First Assistant Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Mr Aedan Whyatt, Assistant Secretary, Global Programs and, Partnerships Branch, Development Policy Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Mr Ray Marcelo, Assistant Secretary, Southeast Asia Strategy Economic, and Communications Branch, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Ms Edwina Betts, A/g Assistant Secretary, Education and Integration Branch, Office, of the Pacific, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Mr Luke Hartley, Assistant Director, Global Programs and, Partnerships Branch, Development Policy Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Mrs Helen Kronberger, Manager International Education (Global Engagement), Austrade Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division, Department of Education Ms Rachel Lloyd, Assistant Secretary, International Policy Branch, Department of Education
4.00 pm	Roundtable: Student Experience Professor Ly Tran, Deakin's Research for Educational Impact Centre, Deakin University Ms Danielle Hartridge, Team Member, Best Practice International Student Engagement, Deakin University Dr Carolyn Evans, Vice Chancellor and President, Griffith University Ms Caroline Hartnett, Deputy Director, Study Melbourne and International Education Ms Jane Johnston, Chief Executive, Study Adelaide Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division, Department of Education Ms Rachel Lloyd, Assistant Secretary, International Policy Branch, Department of Education Mr Jiahao Li, National Postgraduate Officer, Council of International Students Australia (CISA)
5.00 pm	Adjourn