

#### JOINT COMMITTEES

# JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON NORTHERN AUSTRALIA

### Northern Australia Workforce Development

### **PUBLIC HEARING** Friday 31 March 2023

## Main Committee Room Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	<b>Emeritus Professor Jon Altman, School of Regulation and Global Governance and Dr Francis Markham, Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research, Australian National University</b> (Submission 64)
9.40 am	<b>Cooperative Research Centre for Developing Northern Australia</b> (Submission 10) Ms Anne Stünzner, CEO
10.20 am	<ul> <li>Local Government Association of Queensland (Submission 54)</li> <li>Ms Alison Smith, CEO</li> <li>Ms Kathleen Jones, Manager—Workforce and Industrial Relations</li> <li>Local Government Association of the Northern Territory (Submission 38)</li> <li>Mr Sean Holden, CEO</li> </ul>
11.00 am	Morning Tea
11.20 am	<ul> <li>Northern Territory Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade (Submission 37)</li> <li>Ms Tracy Clark, Executive Director—Workforce Skills &amp; Migration</li> <li>Mr Rodney McComiskie, Executive Director—Strategic Policy &amp; Reform</li> <li>Western Australian Government, Department of Training and Workforce</li> <li>Development (Submission 67)</li> <li>Ms Jodie Wallace, Executive Director—Policy Planning and Innovation</li> <li>Ms Kathy Hoare, Director—State Workforce Planning</li> </ul>
12.20 pm	National Indigenous Australians Agency (Submission 16) Mr Carl Binning, Group Manager Ms Fleur Hill, Acting Group Manager Mr Richard Aspinall, Regional Manager Ms Bec Smith, Regional Manager Mr Gerrit Wanganeen, Regional Manager Mr Michael Blanchard, Branch Manager—Employment Branch Mr Avinash Clarke, Branch Manager Mr Tom Dyer, Branch Manager Ms Kate Elliott, Branch Manager—Community Development Program Ms Rachel Kerrigan, Branch Manager—Land Branch Ms Kate Phipps, Branch Manager—Remote Employment Program
1.00 pm	Lunch

2.00 pm	<ul> <li>Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (Submission 44)</li> <li>Ms Joanna Stanion, First Assistant Secretary—Agricultural Policy Division</li> <li>Ms Monica Collins, Acting First Assistant Secretary—Biosecurity Plant and Science Services Division</li> <li>Mr Craig Rosner-Moore, Assistant Secretary—Agricultural Labour Taskforce, Agricultural Policy Division</li> <li>Dr Jared Greenville, Executive Director/First Assistant Secretary—ABARES</li> <li>Department of Industry, Science and Resources (Submission 40)</li> <li>Ms Anthea Long, Division Head for Minerals and Resources Division</li> <li>Mr William Tan, Acting General Manager of NRF Priorities, Manufacturing Division</li> <li>Dr Bobby Cerini, Deputy Director and General Manager of Science &amp; Learning, Questacon</li> <li>Mr Chris Hewett, General Manager—Space Strategy, Australian Space Agency</li> <li>Ms Jodie McAlister, General Manager—Policy and Stakeholder Group, IP Australia</li> <li>Mrs Kristina Anastasi, Branch Head, Advice, Investment Attraction and</li> <li>Analysis,—Minerals Energy and Groundwater Division, Investment Attraction and Analysis, Director—Mineral Resources Advice and Promotion, Geoscience Australia</li> <li>Mrs Allison Britt, Minerals Energy and Groundwater Division, Investment Attraction and Analysis, Director—Mineral Resources Advice and Promotion, Geoscience Australia</li> <li>Mrs Carolyn Conner, Head of Investment Strategy, Insights &amp; Performance</li> <li>Ms Samantha Palmer, General Manager—Visitor Economy and Client Programs Division</li> <li>Mr Sam Guthrie, General Manager—Government &amp; Policy Division</li> <li>Mr Sam Guthrie, General Manager—Government &amp; Policy Division</li> </ul>
3.00 pm	Ms Philippa King, Deputy CEO Department of Employment and Workplace Relations Ms Miranda Lauman, First Assistant Secretary—Workforce Australia for Business Division Ms Nicole McNaughton, State Manager—Northern Australia Mr Bruce Needham, State Manager—Western Australia Ms Edwina Spanos, State Manager—Queensland
3.45 pm	Afternoon Tea
4.00 pm	Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development,         Communications and the Arts (Submission 41)         Mr David Mackay, Deputy Secretary         Mr Matthew Roper, First Assistant Secretary—Partnerships and Projects Division         Ms Linda Lee, Assistant Secretary—Office of Northern Australia Branch
	Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility Mr Craig Doyle, CEO
5.00 pm	<b>Department of the Treasury</b> Mr Robert Raether, First Assistant Secretary—Housing Division Ms Vera Holenstein, Assistant Secretary—Housing Branch
5.30 pm	Adjournment