

## COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

## The extent and nature of poverty in Australia

## PUBLIC HEARING Monday 27 February 2023

## Parliament House Committee Room 2S1, Canberra

Time	Witness
10.15 am	Anti-Poverty Week (Submission 17) Ms Toni Wren, Executive Director
	<b>Carers Australia</b> (Submission 19) Ms Alison Brook, Chief Executive Officer Ms Sue Elderton, Senior Policy Officer
	Antipoverty Centre (Submission 29) Ms Kristin O'Connell, Research and Policy Mr Jay Coonan, Co-coordinator
11.15 am	Economic Justice Australia (Submission 16) Ms Sarah Sacher, Law Reform Officer - via videoconference Ms Kavitha Sivasamy, Parachute Program Solicitor, Canberra Community Law Ms Abby Cone, Board member - via videoconference
12.00 pm	Australian Council of Social Service (Submission 23) Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive Officer - via videoconference Ms Charmaine Crowe, Program Director, Social Security - via videoconference Dr Peter Davidson, Principal Advisor - via videoconference
	<b>UnitingCare Australia</b> (Submission 18) Ms Claerwen Little, National Director Mr Mark Newton, Chief Executive Officer, Parramatta Mission
1.00 pm	Break
2.00 pm	Centre for Future Work Mr Greg Jericho, Policy Director
	Professor Roger Wilkins, private capacity
3.00 pm	Professor Jon Altman, private capacity - via videoconference
	Associate Professor Elise Klein OAM, private capacity (Submission 25)
	Professor John Quiggin, private capacity - via videoconference
4.00 pm	<b>St Vincent de Paul Society National Council of Australia</b> (Submission 27) Mr Mark Gaetani, National President Elect - via videoconference

5.00 pm	Break
5.15 pm	Australian Unemployed Workers' Union Ms Lee-Anne Coutts, Member Mr Andrew Lawrence, Member Mr Raymond Sutherland, Member Ms Catherine Caine, Spokesperson for income support - via videoconference
6.00 pm	ACT Council of Social Service (ACTCOSS) (Submission 26) Dr Gemma Killen, Acting Chief Executive Officer Ms Avan Daruwalla, Policy Officer
	Roundabout Canberra Mrs Hannah Andrevski, Chief Executive Officer
	<b>YWCA Canberra</b> Ms Frances Crimmins, Chief Executive Officer Ms Leah Dwyer, Director, Policy and Advocacy
	HelpingACT Mr Mohammed Ali, President
	Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health and Community Services Ms Julie Tongs OAM, Chief Executive Officer - via videoconference
	CommunityServices #1 Mrs Amanda Tobler, Chief Executive Officer
7.15 pm	Adjournment