

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Climate Change Bill 2022 and the Climate Change (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2022

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 19 August 2022

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.40 am	 Australian Academy of Science (Submission 16) Professor Matthew England, Scientia Professor of Ocean and Climate Dynamics, UNSW Climate Change Research Centre (via videoconference) Mr Chris Anderson, Director Science Policy Professor David Karoly, Honorary Professor in the School of Geography, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences; and Honorary Senior Research Fellow in Melbourne Climate Futures, University of Melbourne (via videoconference) (Submission 167)
9.30 am	Institute of Public Affairs (Submission 56) Mr Morgan Begg, Director, Legal Rights Program Mr Daniel Wild, Deputy Executive Director
10.00 am	Australian Nuclear Association Dr Mark Ho, Vice PresidentNuclear for Climate Australia (Submission 11) Mr Rob Parker, FounderGamma Energy Technology Professor Geoff Bongers, Engineer (via videoconference)
10.50 am	Morning tea
11.05 am	 Financial Services Council (Submission 119) Mr Spiro Premetis, Executive Director, Policy and Advocacy Mr Chaneg Torres, Policy Manager, Investments and Global Markets Investor Group on Climate Change Mr Erwin Jackson, Director, Policy

11.55 am	Australian Industry Greenhouse Network (Submission 43) Ms Susan Smith, Chief Executive (via videoconference)
	BP Australia (Submission 45) Ms Lucy Nation, Vice President, Regions, Cities and Solutions (via videoconference)
	Minerals Council of Australia Ms Tania Constable, Chief Executive Officer Mr Dan Zavattiero, General Manager
	Santos Ms Tracey Winters, Strategic Adviser, External Affairs
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Clean Energy Finance Corporation Mr Simon Every, Head of Government and Stakeholder Relations Mr Jay Tolson, General Counsel, Company Secretary
	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation Dr Peter Mayfield, Executive Director, Environment, Energy And Resources, Environment Energy and Resources (via videoconference) Dr Jack Steele, Director, Science Impact and Policy (via videoconference)
	Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility (Submission 7) Mr Craig Doyle, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference)
	Australian Renewable Energy Agency Mr Chris Faris, Chief Operating Officer
	Infrastructure Australia Mr Adam Copp, Acting Chief Executive Officer
	Export Finance Australia Mr John Hopkins, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference) Mr John Pacey, Chief Credit Officer (via videoconference)
	Clean Energy Regulator (Submission 62) Mr David Parker, Chair (via videoconference) Mr Geoff Purvis-Smith, General Counsel Mr Mark Williamson, Executive General Manager

2.20 pm	 Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water (Submissio n 78) Ms Jo Evans, Deputy Secretary Ms Kath Rowley, First Assistant Secretary, Emissions Reduction Division (via videoconference) Mr Andrew Bray, Director, Climate Strategy and Risk Section Mr Steven Gardiner, Counsel, Australian Government Solicitor Climate Change Authority
	Mr Brad Archer, Chief Executive Officer Ms Eliza Murray, General Manager Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 98) Ms Tegan Brink, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Investment Branch Mrs Kim Debenham, Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Trade Policy Branch Mr Andrew Sainsbury, Director Trade and Infrastructure Finance Section Mr Jamie Isbister, Ambassador for the Environment; First Assistant Secretary, Climate Change and Sustainability Division
	Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Ms Emma Campbell, Acting Deputy Secretary, Agriculture and Food Policy and Research Group
4.00 pm	Adjournment