

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Australia's engagement in Afghanistan

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 11 October 2021

Main Committee Room and via videoconference, Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.15 am	Australian War Memorial - Official Historian of Australian Operations in Iraq and Afghanistan, and Australian Peacekeeping Operations in East Timor Professor Craig Stockings
9.45 am	GAP Veterans and Legal Services Dr Kay Danes OAM, Humanitarian Advocate Mr Glen Kolomeitz, Director
10.30 am	Afghanistan-Australian Advocacy Network Ms Sitarah Mohammadi
11.15 am	Break

11.30 am	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Mr Simon Newnham, A/g Deputy Secretary/Crisis Coordinator Mr Daniel Sloper, Special Representative on Afghanistan (joining from Doha) Ms Heidi Venamore PSM, Ambassador to the United Arab Emirates (joining from Abu Dhabi) Ms Kate Logan, First Assistant Secretary, Consular and Crisis Management Division Mr Roger Noble AO DSC CSC, Ambassador for Counter-Terrorism Mr Geoff Tooth, Assistant Secretary, Afghanistan and Regional Branch and former Head of Mission Kabul Mr Brett Marshall, Assistant Secretary, Operational Security Branch Ms Lucienne Manton, A/g First Assistant Secretary, International Security Division and Ambassador for People Smuggling and Human Trafficking
	Department of Defence GEN Angus Campbell AO, DSC, Chief of the Defence Force Mr Hugh Jeffrey, First Assistant Secretary International Policy AVM Robert Chipman AM, CSC, Head Military Strategic Commitments LTGEN Gregory Bilton AO, CSC, Chief of Joint Operations RADM Sarah Sharkey AM, CSC, Surgeon General Australian Defence Force MAJGEN Natasha Fox AM, CSC, Head People Capability Mr Steven Groves, Chief Finance Officer Ms Rowena Bain, First Assistant Secretary Ministerial Executive Coordination and Communication
	Department of Home Affairs Mr Andrew Kefford PSM, Deputy Secretary, Social Cohesion and Citizenship Group Ms Cheryl-anne Moy, Deputy Secretary, Immigration and Settlement Services Group Mr Richard Feakes, First Assistant Secretary, Counter-Terrorism Coordination Centre Mr Richard Johnson, First Assistant Secretary, Social Cohesion Division Mr David Wilden, First Assistant Secretary, Refugee, Humanitarian & Settlement Division Ms Sally Pfeiffer, Assistant Secretary, Humanitarian Program Operations Branch Ms Lauren Monks, Commander – Australian Border Force
12.15 pm	Lunch break
1.00 pm	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
	Department of Defence
	Department of Home Affairs
	Department of Veterans' Affairs Ms Liz Cosson, Secretary Ms Vicki Rundle, Deputy Secretary Ms Leanne Cameron, First Assistant Secretary, Mental Health and Wellbeing Services
3.00 pm	Adjournment