

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Social Services Legislation Amendment (Consistent Waiting Periods for New Migrants) Bill 2021 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 13 September 2021

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	via videoconference: Migration Council Australia (Submission 2) Ms Carla Wilshire, Chief Executive Officer Ms Rikke Anderson, Policy Officer Settlement Council of Australia (Submission 16) Ms Sandra Wright, Chief Executive Officer
	Asylum Seekers Resource Centre (Submission 18) Ms Jana Favero, Director - Advocacy and Campaigns
10.00 am	via teleconference: Council of Small Business Organisations Australia Ms Alexi Boyd, Chief Executive Officer
10.30 am	Break
10.40 am	via videoconference: Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia (Submission 23) Mr Mohammad Al-Khafaji, Chief Executive Officer Ms Alexandra Raphael, Director - Policy and Advocacy Ms Lauren Stark, Senior Policy and Project Officer
	Multicultural Youth Advocacy Network Australia (MYAN) (Submission 12) Ms Rana Ebrahimi, National Manager Ms Martika Shakoor, Youth Leadership and Advocacy Officer
	Economic Justice Australia (Submission 11) Ms Linda Forbes, Law Reform, Policy and Communications Officer

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Social Services Legislation Amendment (Consistent Waiting Periods for New Migrants) Bill 2021 [Provisions]

11.30 am	via videoconference: Carers Australia (Submission 9) Ms Liz Callaghan, Chief Executive Officer Ms Sue Elderton, Director Policy UnitingCare Australia (Submission 10) Ms Claerwen Little, National Director Ms Corrine Dobson, Senior Analyst Ms Anna Matina, Group Manager - Community Development, North and West Victoria and Tasmania
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.15 pm	 via videoconference: Queensland Council of Social Service (Submission 1) Dr Gayatri Ramnath, Principal Advisor - Research and Advice Australian Association of Social Workers (Submission 5) Rachel Reilly, Manager - Social Policy and Advocacy Mr Charles Chu, Social Policy and Advocacy Officer Centre for Excellence in Child and Family Welfare (Submission 15) Ms Deb Tsorbaris, Chief Executive Officer Ms Georgette Antonas, Manager - Policy
2.15 pm	Break
2.30 pm	via videoconference: Department of Social Services (Submission 17) Mr Matt Flavel, Deputy Secretary - Social Security Mr Troy Sloan, Group Manager - Pensions, Housing, and Homelessness Group Mr Andrew Seebach, Branch Manager - Pensions, Housing, and Homelessness Group
4.00 pm	Adjournment