

SELECT COMMITTEE ON AUSTRALIA AS A TECHNOLOGY AND FINANCIAL CENTRE

Australia as a Technology and Financial Centre

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 27 August 2021

Committee Room 2S1 and via videoconference, Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.30 am	Finder (Submission 43) Mr Fred Schebesta, Co-founder and CEO Mr Ben King, Head of Public Affairs & CSR Mr James O'Donoghue, Ventures Product Leader Mr Michael Browne, Compliance Director
10.00 am	Revolut Australia (Submission 44) Mr Matt Baxby, CEO Mr Scott Jamieson, Chief Compliance Officer
	Bitaroo (Submission 5) Mr Ethan Timor, Managing Director
10.40 am	Dr Joseph Liu, Dr Weiping He (Monash University) (Submission 28)
	Mr Scott Chamberlain, Entrepreneurial Fellow at ANU School of Law (Submissi on 24)
	Academics affiliated with the RMIT Blockchain Innovation Hub (Submission 67) Dr Aaron Lane, Research Fellow, RMIT Blockchain Innovation Hub Dr Darcy Allen Associate Professor Chris Berg
11.25 am	Break
11.30 am	ADC Forum (Submission 35) Mr Matt Faubel, Chair, ADC Program Committee Ms Loretta Joseph, Chair, ADC Cyber Security Council Dr Jane Thomason, ADC Special Advisor, Blockchain and Member, ADC Faculty Mr Greg Medcraft, ADC Special Advisor, Financial Services
12.00 pm	Australian Banking Association (Submission 30) Mr Aidan O'Shaughnessy, Executive Director, Policy
12.30 pm	Reserve Bank of Australia (Submission 37) Dr Tony Richards, Head, Payments Policy Department Mr Chris Thompson, Deputy Head, Payments Policy Department
1.00 pm	Lunch break

SELECT COMMITTEE ON AUSTRALIA AS A TECHNOLOGY AND FINANCIAL CENTRE Australia as a Technology and Financial Centre

1.40 pm	Department of Home Affairs and AUSTRAC (Submission 23) Mr Daniel Mossop, Assistant Secretary, Transnational Crime Policy Branch, Department of Home Affairs Ms Jane Annear, Assistant Secretary, Online Harms Policy Branch Mr Bradley Brown, National Manager, Education, Capability and Communication, AUSTRAC
2.10 pm	Australian Securities and Investments Commission (Submission 61) Ms Cathie Armour, ASIC Commissioner Mr Mark Adams, Senior Executive Leader, Strategic Intelligence Ms Hema Raman, Senior Lawyer, Markets
2.50 pm	Department of the Treasury Ms Nghi Luu, Assistant Secretary, Market Group Mr Adam Bogiatzis, Director, Banking and Capital Markets Branch Mr Paul Fischer, Acting Assistant Secretary, Corporate and International Tax Division
3.30 pm	Adjournment