

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Opportunities for advancing Australia's strategic interests through existing regional architecture

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 19 August 2021

Committee Room 2S1 and via videoconference, Parliament House, Canberra

All times AEST

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Australian Member Committee of the Council for Security Cooperation in the Asia Pacific (Aus-CSCAP) (Submission 6) Mr Ric Smith, Co-Chair Professor Tony Milner, Co-Chair
9.40 am	Australian Strategic Policy Institute Mr Peter Jennings PSM, Executive Director
10.20 am	Dr David Envall, Fellow, Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs, ANU
	Dr Lavina Lee, Senior Lecturer in International Relations, Macquarie University
	Dr Thomas Wilkins, Senior Lecturer, Department of Government & International Relations, University of Sydney
11.00 am	Break
11.15 am	Hong Kong Watch (Submission 7) Mr Sam Goodman, Senior Policy Advisor
	Mr Ted Hui
	The Humanism Project (Submission 10) Dr Angana Chatterji, University of California, Berkley Dr Ruchira Talukdar
12.00 pm	Northern Territory Government (Submission 5) Mr Guy Boekenstein, Senior Director Defence and National Security, Office of the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory
12.30 pm	Lunch

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE Opportunities for advancing Australia's strategic interests through existing regional architecture

1.15 pm	Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources (Submission 3) Ms Alison Drury, General Manager, Trade and International Branch, Strategy Policy Division Mrs Steph Gorecki Natik, General Manager, International and Astronomy Branch, Science and Commercialisation Division Dr Angela Samuel, Director, International Relations, National Measurement Institute Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (Submission 1) Mr Mark Alexander, International Affairs Manager Ms Catherine Kelleher, Acting Senior Manager, Government and International Affairs Department of Defence (Submission 2)
2.15 pm	Mr Hugh Jeffrey, First Assistant Secretary, International Policy Division Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 8) Ms Elizabeth Peak, Deputy Head, Office of the Pacific & First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Strategy Division Ms Elisabeth Bowes, First Assistant Secretary, Regional Trade Agreements Division Mr Craig Chittick, First Assistant Secretary, US and Indo-Pacific Strategy Division Dr Lauren Bain, Assistant Secretary, ASEAN and Regional Architecture Branch, and US and Indo-Pacific Strategy Division
3.00 pm	Adjournment