

## COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## Mitochondrial Donation Law Reform (Maeve's Law) Bill 2021

## PUBLIC HEARING Friday 6 August 2021

## **Committee Room 2S2 Parliament House, Canberra**

Time	Witness
9.00 am	<ul> <li>Via Teleconference: Mito Foundation (Submission 16) Mr Sean Murray, Chief Executive Officer Mrs Shelley Beverley, Lived Experience Professor Carolyn Sue AM FAHMS, Founding Director and Chair - Scientific &amp; Medical Advisory Panel</li> <li>Australian Genomics Health Alliance (Submission 6) Ms Tiffany Boughtwood, Managing Director Professor John Christodoulou, Chief Investigator</li> </ul>
9.45 am	<ul> <li>Via Teleconference: Plunkett Centre for Ethics (Submission 31) Dr Bernadette Tobin, Director</li> <li>Australian Christian Lobby (Submission 24) Ms Wendy Francis, National Director - Politics</li> <li>Ethicentre Ltd. (Submission 7) Associate Professor Megan Best, Director</li> </ul>
10.45 am	<ul> <li>Via Teleconference: The International Society for Stem Cell Research (Submission 9)</li> <li>Professor Megan Munsie, Member – ISSCR Ethics Committee and ISSCR Guidelines on Stem Cell Research and Clinical Translation Taskforce</li> <li>Dr George Daley, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine - Harvard Medical School</li> <li>Robinson Research Institute (Submission 32)</li> <li>Professor Rebecca Robker, Executive - Theme Leader Early Origins of Health</li> <li>Australian and New Zealand Infertility Counsellors Association (Submission 46)</li> <li>Ms Rebecca Kerner, Chair</li> <li>Ms Iolanda Rodino, Committee Member</li> </ul>
11.45 am	Break

12.15 pm	<ul> <li>Via Teleconference: The Academies (Submission 33)</li> <li>Professor Carolyn Sue AM FAHMS, Fellow - Australian Academy of Health and Medial Sciences</li> <li>Murdoch Children's Research Institute (Submission 1)</li> <li>Professor David Thorburn, Co-Group Leader - Brain &amp; Mitochondrial Research Dr Christopher Gyngell, Team Leader</li> </ul>
1.15 pm	Appearing in person: National Health and Medical Research Council (Submission 17) Professor Anne Kelso, Chief Executive Officer Ms Prue Torrance, Executive Director
2.15 pm	Via Teleconference: Department of Health (Submission 34) Mr Paul McBride, Acting Deputy Secretary - Strategy, Evidence and Research Group Ms Bronwyn Field, First Assistant Secretary - Portfolio Strategies Division Ms Angela Wallbank, Assistant Secretary - Strategic Policy Branch
3.15 pm	Adjournment