

#### ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

# **Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Amendment (Streamlining Environmental Approvals) Bill 2020**

### PUBLIC HEARING Monday 23 November 2020

### Parliament House Room 2S1, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.30 am	<b>Dr Peter Burnett, Honorary Associate Professor, ANU College of Law</b> (Submissio n 42)
10.10 am	Environmental Defenders Office (Submission 2) Ms Rachel Walmsley, Director of Policy and Law Reform (via videoconference)
	Environmental Justice Australia (Submission 12) Dr Bruce Lindsay, Senior Lawyer (via videoconference)
	Law Council of Australia (Submission 3) Ms Robyn Glindemann, Australian Environment Planning Law Group Chair (via teleconference)
11.05 am	Break
11.15 am	Humane Society International (Submission 6) Mrs Alexia Wellbelove, Senior Campaign Manager
	WWF-Australia (Submission 4) Mr Dermot O'Gorman, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference)
	The Wilderness Society (Submission 5) Ms Suzanne Milthorpe, National Environment Law Campaign Manager
	The Australia Institute (No submission) Mr Rod Campbell, Research Director Mr Bill Browne, Researcher
	BirdLife Australia (Submission 8) Mr Paul Sullivan, Chief Executive (via videoconference) Mr Gerard Early, Director
	Australian Conservation Foundation (Submission 9) Ms Kelly O'Shannassy, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference) Mr James Trezise, Policy Analyst
12.30 pm	Lunch

# ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Amendment (Streamlining Environmental Approvals) Bill 2020

1.00 pm	Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists (Submission 11) Professor Martine Maron, Member (via videoconference) Professor Bruce Thom, Member (via videoconference)
1.55 pm	Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association (Submission 43) Mr Andrew McConville, Chief Executive (via videoconference) Mr Keld Knudsen, Director (via videoconference)
	Minerals Council of Australia (Submission 41) Ms Tania Constable, Chief Executive Officer Mr Chris McCombe, General Manager – Safety and Sustainability
	Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia (Submission 44) Mr Paul Everingham, Chief Executive (via videoconference) Mr Rob Carruthers, Director – Policy and Advocacy (via videoconference) Ms Bronwyn Bell, Manager Policy – Natural Resources (via videoconference)
	Business Council of Australia (Submission 40) Ms Jennifer Westacott, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference) Ms Jessica Wilson, Executive Director - Policy (via videoconference)
	National Farmers' Federation (Submission 39) Mr Tony Mahar, Chief Executive Officer Mr Warwick Ragg, General Manager Natural Resource Management
3.10 pm	Afternoon tea
3.20 pm	Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment (No submission) Mr Dean Knudson, Deputy Secretary, Major Environment Reforms Group Mr James Tregurtha, First Assistant Secretary, Environmental Protection Reform Division Mr Bruce Edwards, Assistant Secretary, Environment Protection Reform Branch Mr Greg Manning, Assistant Secretary, Bilateral Agreements Branch
	Murray-Darling Basin Authority (No submission) Mr Phillip Glyde, Chief Executive Ms Kelly Casey, A/g Chief Operating Officer Mr Andrew Reynolds, Executive Director, River Management
5.00 pm	Adjournment