

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

National Commissioner for Defence and Veteran Suicide Prevention Bill 2020 [provisions] and the National Commissioner for Defence and Veteran Suicide Prevention (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2020 [provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 17 November 2020

Committee Room 1S4 (via teleconference), Parliament House, Canberra

All times are AEDT

Time	Witness
9.00 am	The Royal Australian Regiment Corporation (Submission 1) Mr Michael von Berg, Chair and National President
9.30 am	Defence Force Welfare Association (Submission 15) Mr Kel Ryan, National President
	Defence Force Welfare Association (Qld) (Submission 13) Mr John Lowis, President
10.10 am	Mrs Nikki Jamieson (Submission 21)
10.40 am	Break
10.50 am	Dr Bruce Baer Arnold (Submission 6)
	Ms Deborah Morris (Submission 16)
11.30 am	Suicide Prevention Australia (Submission 8) Ms Rebecca Burdick Davies, Director, Policy & Government Relations Mr Christopher Stone, Policy Manager
	Mental Health Australia (Submission 8) Dr Leanne Beagley, Chief Executive Officer Ms Ingrid Hatfield, Senior Policy & Projects Officer
12.00 pm	Hawthorn RSL Sub-Branch (Submission 9) Mr Lucas Moon, President
12.30 pm	Lunch
1.40 pm	Mrs Karen Bird (Submission 22)
	Ms Connie Boglis (Submission 20)
	Ms Julie Ann Finney

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE
National Commissioner for Defence and Veteran Suicide Prevention Bill 2020 [provisions] and the National
Commissioner for Defence and Veteran Suicide Prevention (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2020 [provisions]

2.25 pm	Voice Of A Veteran Mr Heston Russell, Founder Mr Glenn Kolomeitz (Submission 30)
	Mr Hugh Poate (Submission 29)
	Mr Alan Ashmore (Submission 23)
3.10 pm	Break
3.20 pm	Mr Mark Plunkett
	Mr Greg Isolani
4.05 pm	Department of Veterans' Affairs (Submission 7) Ms Liz Cosson AM CSC, Secretary Ms Kate Pope, PSM, Deputy President, Repatriation Commission Department of Defence (Submission 7) Ms Justine Greig, Deputy Secretary Defence People Group, Department of Defence MAJGEN Natasha Fox, AM CSC, Head People Capability, Defence People Group Mr David Morton, Director General, Health Policy, Programs and Assurance, Joint Health Command
	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 10) Ms Tamsyn Harvey, First Assistant Secretary, Legal Services Policy Division Ms Samantha Byng, Assistant Secretary, Royal Commissions Branch Mr Iain Anderson, Deputy Secretary, Legal Services and Families Group Mr Tom Browne, Director, National Commissioner for Defence and Veteran Suicide Prevention Taskforce
4.45 pm	Adjournment