

## FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Australia's Foreign Relations (State and Territory Arrangements) Bill 2020 and Australia's Foreign Relations (State and Territory Arrangements) (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2020

## PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 13 October 2020

## Main Committee Room Parliament House, Canberra

All times are AEDT

Time	Witness
8.15 am	Professor George Williams AO
9.00 am	Universities Australia (Submission 20) Ms Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive Officer Ms Anne-Marie Lansdown, Deputy Chief Executive
	Group of Eight (Submission 30) Ms Vicki Thomson, Chief Executive Officer
	Australian Technology Network of Universities (Submission 34) Mr Luke Sheehy, Executive Director
9.45 am	University Vice-Chancellors Panel Professor Margaret Sheil AO, Vice-Chancellor, Queensland University of Technology Professor John Dewar, Vice-Chancellor, La Trobe University Professor Barney Glover, Vice-Chancellor, Western Sydney University
10.30 am	Break
10.45 am	Australian Research Council Professor Sue Thomas, Chief Executive Officer Ms Kathie Dent, Chief Programs Officer Dr Leah McKenzie, Acting Branch Manager, Policy & Strategy Mr Pi Klinjun, Director, Grants Support
11.30 am	National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) (Submission 26) Dr Paul Kniest, Director, Policy and Research Dr Terri MacDonald, Policy and Research
12.15 pm	Break
1.15 pm	Science & Technology Australia (Submission 45) Ms Misha Schubert, Chief Executive Officer Associate Professor Jeremy Brownlie, National President
2.00 pm	Ms Melissa Conley Tyler (Submission 57)

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE
Australia's Foreign Relations (State and Territory Arrangements) Bill 2020 and Australia's Foreign Relations (State and Territory Arrangements) (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2020

2.45 pm	Break
3.00 pm	TAFE Directors Australia (Submission 40) Mr Craig Robertson, Chief Executive Officer
3.45 pm	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 46) Mr Simon Newnham, First Assistant Secretary and Chief Legal Officer Ms Anne Sheehan, Assistant Secretary, International Law Branch Ms Emily Roper, Acting Assistant Secretary, Foreign Arrangements Task Force
4.45 pm	Adjournment