

FINANCE AND PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Lessons to be learned in relation to the Australian bushfire season 2019-20

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 29 July 2020

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Panel: Dr Sophie Lewis, ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment – via videoconference (Submission 1)
	Professor Jason Sharples, University of New South Wales (Submission 24)
	Australian National University (Submission 97) Professor Mark Howden, Director, ANU Climate Change Institute
	Griffith University (Submission 83) Professor Brendan Mackey, Director, Griffith Climate Change Response Program (Submission 83) - via teleconference
10.00 am	Australian Academy of Science (Submission 122) Professor Christopher Dickman, University of Sydney, Fellow - via videoconference Professor David Lindenmayer, Australian National University
10.30 am	Break
10.45 am	Ecological Society of Australia (<i>Submission 73</i>) Dr Ayesha Tulloch, Vice President (Policy and Outreach) and University of Sydney Research Fellow - via videoconference Associate Professor John Morgan, La Trobe University- via videoconference
11.15 am	 Panell: Bureau of Meteorology - via videoconference (Submission 114) Dr Andrew Johnson, Chief Executive Officer and Director of Meteorology Dr Karl Braganza, Head of Climate Monitoring Geoscience Australia (Submission 93) Mr Simon Costello, Branch Head, National Location Information Mr Mark Edwards, Director, Vulnerability and Resilience
	Australian Space Agency - Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources (Submission 52) Mr Anthony Murfett, Deputy Head
12.45 pm	Lunch Break

1.45 pm	Panel: ReachOut (Submission 53) Mr Ashley de Silva, Chief Executive Officer- via videoconferenceProfessor Alan Rosen AO - via videoconference (Submission 4)
	Mental Health Australia (Submission 91) Dr Leanne Beagley, Chief Executive Officer
	National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (Submission 11) Ms Dawn Casey, Deputy Chief Executive Officer
3.15 pm	Panel: Australian Medical Association (Submission 39) Dr Tony Bartone, President - via videoconference
	Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (Submission 13) Professor Stephen Duckett, Director of the Health Program at the Grattan Institute - via videoconference
	Royal Australian College of General Practitioners - via videoconference (Submiss ion 61) Dr Penny Burns Dr Glynn Kelly
	Public Health Association of Australia (Submission 115) Mr David Templeman, President Dr Ben Ewald - via videoconference