

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Press Freedom

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 18 October 2019

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Australia's Right to Know (Submission 34) Mr Campbell Reid, Group Executive - Corporate Affairs, Policy and Government Relations, News Corp Australia Ms Georgia-Kate Schubert, Head of Policy and Government Affairs, News Corp Australia Mr Paul Murphy, Chief Executive, Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance Ms Lesley Power, General Counsel, SBS Mr Gaven Morris, Director News, Analysis and Investigations, ABC (Submission 41) Ms Connie Carnabuci, General Counsel, ABC (Submission 41) Ms Clare Gill, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Nine Mr James Chessell, Group Executive Editor, Nine Mr Chris Uhlmann, Political Editor, Nine Ms Sarah Waladan, Head of Legal and Regulatory Affairs, Free TV Australia
10.45 am	Break
11.00 am	Australian Broadcasting Corporation (Submission 41) Mr Gaven Morris, Director News, Analysis and Investigations Ms Connie Carnabuci, General Counsel
11.45 am	Centre for Governance and Public Policy, Griffith University Professor AJ Brown, Program Leader, Public Integrity and Anti-Corruption
12.30 pm	ABC Alumni Limited (Submission 15) Mr Jonathan Holmes, Press Freedom Spokesperson Mr Quentin Dempster, Representative
1.15 pm	Lunch
1.45 pm	Public Interest Journalism Initiative Associate Professor Margaret Simons, Chair, Expert Research Panel Mr Gary Dickson, Operations Administrator
2.30 pm	Alliance for Journalists' Freedom (Submission 13) Professor Peter Greste, Spokesman and Founding Director Mr Peter Wilkinson, Chair Mr Chris Flynn, Director
3.15 pm	Break

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS REFERENCES COMMITTEE Press Freedom

3.30 pm	Associate Professor Johan Lidberg and Dr Denis Muller, personal capacity (Sub mission 22) Associate Professor Johan Lidberg, Director, Master of Journalism, School of Media, Film and Journalism, Monash University Dr Denis Muller, Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Advancing Journalism, University of Melbourne
4.15 pm	Journalism Education and Research Association Australia (Submission 21) Associate Professor Johan Lidberg, Member
5.00 pm	Adjournment