

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## Migration Amendment (Strengthening the Character Test) Bill 2019 [Provisions]

## PUBLIC HEARING Monday 19 August 2019

## Committee room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	<ul> <li>Panel: Law Council of Australia (Submission 29)</li> <li>Ms Gabrielle Bashir SC, Co-Chair, National Criminal Law Committee</li> <li>Ms Leonie Campbell, Deputy Director, Policy</li> <li>Ms Carina Ford, Member, Migration Law Committee</li> <li>Mr David Prince, Member, Migration Law Committee</li> <li>Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law (Submission 27)</li> <li>Dr Sangeetha Pillai, Senior Research Associate</li> </ul>
9.50 am	<ul> <li>Panel: Public Law and Policy Research Unit, University of Adelaide (Submission 19) Mr Alex Reilly, Professor</li> <li>Dr Jason Donnelly (via teleconference) (Submission 21)</li> <li>Mr Henry Sherrell (Submission 2)</li> </ul>
10.50 am	Morning tea
11.00 am	New Zealand High Commission Dame Annette King, High Commissioner Mr Andrew White, First Secretary
11.40 am	<b>Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia (FECCA)</b> (Submission 8) Mr Mohammad Al-Khafaji, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lauren Stark, Policy and Project Officer
12.10 pm	Lunch
1.10 pm	Australian Human Rights Commission (via teleconference) (Submission 4) Mr Edward Santow, Human Rights Commissioner Ms Lara Renton, Senior Lawyer

1.50 pm	<ul> <li>Panel (via videoconference): Asylum Seeker Resource Centre (Submission 3) Dr Carolyn Graydon, Principal Solicitor and Manager Human Rights Law Program</li> <li>Victoria Legal Aid (Submission 10) Ms Sarah Fisher, Manager, Migration sub-program</li> <li>Visa Cancellations Working Group (via videoconference) (Submission 14) Ms Hannah Dickinson, Chair Ms Sanmati Verma, Member</li> </ul>
2.50 pm	Afternoon tea
3.00 pm	Police Federation of Australia (Submission 12) Mr Scott Weber, Chief Executive Officer
3.30 pm	Department of Home Affairs (Submission 15) Mr Michael Willard, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Immigration and Community Protection Policy Mr Malcolm McAllister, Assistant Secretary, Compliance and Community Protection Policy Ms Pip De Veau, First Assistant Secretary, Legal Division Ms Sachi Wimmer, First Assistant Secretary, Immigration Integrity and Community Protection Policy
4.30 pm	Adjournment