

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## **Criminal Code Amendment (Agricultural Protection) Bill 2019 [Provisions]**

## PUBLIC HEARING Monday 12 August 2019

## Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Panel: National Farmers' Federation (Submission 36) Mr Tony Mahar, Chief Executive Officer Dr Adrienne Ryan, General Manager, Rural Affairs
	New South Wales Farmers' Association (Submission 10) Ms Kathryn Rankin, Policy Director, Rural Affairs & Business Economics and Trade Mr Ean Pollard, Pork Committee, and pork producer from Young
	Victorian Farmers Federation (Submission 53) Mr David Jochinke, President
9.50 am	Panel: Australian Pork Ltd (Submission 16) Ms Margo Andrae, Chief Executive Officer Ms Deb Kerr, General Manager – Policy  Australian Dairy Farmers (Submission 54) Mr Craig Hough, Director Strategy and Policy Mr Brian Tessmann, Chair Animal Health and Welfare Policy Advisory Group  Australian Chicken Meat Federation (ACMF) (Submission 52) Dr Vivien Kite, Executive Director
10.40 am	Morning tea
10.50 am	Via teleconference: Law Council of Australia (Submission 42) Dr Natasha Molt, Director of Policy Ms Gabrielle Bashir, Co-Chair of the National Criminal Law Committee
11.30 am	Animal Defenders Office (Submission 51) Mr Mike Rosalky, Volunteer Lawyer Ms Tara Ward, Volunteer Lawyer
12.00 pm	Lunch

1.00 pm	Panel: Animal Protectors Alliance (Submission 15) Ms Robyn Soxsmith, Co-Founder
	Aussie Farms Incorporated (Submission 34) Mr Christopher Delforce, Executive Director
1.50 pm	Australian Academy of Science (Submission 75) Dr Tayanah O'Donnell, Acting Director, Science Policy Dr Thomas Joseph Higgins, Fellow
2.30 pm	Via teleconference: Australia's Right to Know (Submission 69) Ms Georgia-Kate Schubert, Head of Policy and Government Affairs, News Corp Australia Mr Mark Maley, Editorial Policies Manager, Australian Broadcasting Corporation Ms Deborah Auchinachie, Senior Lawyer, Australian Broadcasting Corporation Ms Gail Hambly, Private Capacity
3.00 pm	Afternoon tea
3.10 pm	RSPCA (Submission 49) Dr Bidda Jones, Acting Chief Executive Officer Dr Jed Goodfellow, Senior Policy Officer
3.40 pm	Australian Veterinary Association (Submission 77) Dr Melanie Latter, Head of Policy and Advocacy
4.10 pm	Panel: Department of Agriculture (Submission 20) Ms Rosemary Deininger, First Assistant Secretary, Agricultural Policy Division Mr Nick Blong, Assistant Secretary, Agricultural Policy Division Dr Narelle Clegg, Assistant Secretary, Biosecurity Animal Division Mr Richard Webb, Director, Agricultural Policy Division
	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 72) Mr Andrew Walter, First Assistant Secretary, Integrity and Security Division Ms Elizabeth Brayshaw, Assistant Secretary, Security and Criminal Justice Branch Mr Branko Ananijevski, Director, Criminal Law Section
	Department of Home Affairs Mr Andrew Warnes, Assistant Secretary, National Security Policy Branch
	Australian Federal Police Ms Debbie Platz, Assistant Commissioner National Manager Crime Operations Ms Kate McMullan, Acting Manager Strategic Engagement
5.00 pm	Adjournment