

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT REFERENCES COMMITTEE

The high rates of mental health conditions experienced by first responders, emergency service workers and volunteers

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 7 November 2018

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	National Council of Ambulance Unions (Submission 79) Mr Jim Arneman, Project Officer
	Health Services Union (no submission) Mr Steven Fraser, Vice President and Ambulance Councillor Mr Michael Callinan, State Councillor, NSW Ambulance Division Mr Mick Grayson, State Councillor, NSW Ambulance Division Mr Terence Savage, North Coast Councillor, NSW Ambulance Division
9.40 am	Australia21 (Submission 89) Mr Paul Barratt, Chair Ms Lyn Stephens, Director Mr Mick Palmer, Director Emeritus (via teleconference)
10.20 am	Comcare (no submission) Ms Jennifer Taylor, Chief Executive Officer Mr Justin Napier, General Manager, Regulatory Operations Group Mr James McKenzie, A/g General Manager, Claims Management Group
11.00 am	Break
11.10 am	via teleconference: Allianz Australia Insurance (no submission) Mr Nicholas Scofield, Chief Corporate Affairs Officer Mr Noel Catchpole, Manager, Western Region, Workers Compensation
	Jardine Lloyd Thompson (no submission) Mrs Sarsha Neal, Divisional Manager Mrs Maria Kozak, Senior Consultant Workers Compensation
	CGU (no submission) Mr Colin Ahern, Executive Manager, CGU Workers Compensation
12.10 pm	Australian Capital Territory Emergency Services Agency (Submission 59) Mr Dominic Lane, Commissioner
	ACT Ambulance Service (no submission) Mr Howard Wren, Chief Officer

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT REFERENCES COMMITTEE

The high rates of mental health conditions experienced by first responders, emergency service workers and volunteers

12.50 pm	Australian National Audit Office (Submission 71) Ms Lisa Rauter, Group Executive Director, Performance Audit Services Group Mr Paul Bryant, Executive Director, Performance Audit Services Group
1.30 pm	Lunch
2.00 pm	Police Federation of Australia (Submission 80) Mr Mark Carroll APM, President Mr Scott Weber, Chief Executive Officer Mr Mark Burgess, Consultant
2.40 pm	Australian Federal Police (Submission 87) Commissioner Andrew Colvin APM, OAM Ms Sue Bird, Chief Operating Officer Dr Katrina Sanders, Chief Medical Officer Mr Peter Crozier, Commander, A/g National Manager of People, Safety, Security
3.20 pm	Break
3.30 pm	Department of Jobs and Small Business (Submission 82) Ms Jody Anderson, Group Manager, Work Health and Safety Policy Group Mr Adrian Breen, Branch Manager, Work Health and Safety Policy Branch Mr David Cains, Branch Manager, Workers' Compensation Branch Safe Work Australia (Submission 30) Ms Michelle Baxter, Deputy Chief Executive Officer Ms Amanda Johnston, A/g Deputy Chief Executive Officer Ms Anthea Raven, A/g Branch Manager, Strategic Policy Branch Mr Kris Garred, Director, Evidence
4.20 pm	NSW Ambulance (no submission) Mr Dominic Morgan, Chief Executive
5.00 pm	Ms Vivien Thomson AFSM, private capacity (no submission)
5.40 pm	Adjournment