

# FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

# **United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)**

# **PUBLIC HEARING** Friday 24 August 2018

#### **Committee Room 2S3** Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	United Nations Association of Australia (Submission 47) Mr Lachlan Hunter, National Executive Director Ms Patricia Garcia, National Sustainable Development Goals Manager Ms MacCallum Johnson, National Executive Adviser  Volunteering Australia (Submission 127) Ms Lavanya Kala, Policy Manager
9.45 am	Whole of government coordination and reporting: Australian Bureau of Statistics (Submission 96) Dr Paul Jelfs, General Manager, Population and Social Statistics Mrs Emily Walter, Director, Household Characteristics and Social Reporting Section  Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 60) Mr Chris Tinning, First Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Development and Finance Division and Chief Economist Ms Stephanie Aeuckens, Director, Global Development Branch  Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet Mr Jason McDonald, Chief Advisor, Domestic Policy Group
10.45 am	Break

# FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)

11.00 am	Goals 1–5, 10: Department of Social Services Dr Tim Reddel, Group Manager of the Policy Office
	<b>Department of Agriculture and Water Resources</b> (Submission 86) Mr Matt Worrell, Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Agriculture Policy and Bilateral Branch
	Department of Health (Submission 143) Ms Tania Rishniw, First Assistant Secretary, Portfolio Strategies Division
	Department of Education and Training (Submission 144) Ms Karen Sandercock, Group Manager, International Group
	Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet Ms Rachel Livingston, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office for Women
	Department of the Treasury Ms Lisa Elliston, Division Head, International Policy and Engagement Division
11.45 am	Goals 6–7, 12–15: Department of Agriculture and Water Resources (Submission 86) Mr Richard McLoughlin, Assistant Secretary, Murray Darling Basin Task Force and International Engagement Branch
	Department of the Environment and Energy (Submission 115) Dr Rachel Bacon, First Assistant Secretary, Policy Analysis and Implementation Division
12.30 pm	Lunch
1.15 pm	Goals 8–9, 11, 16-17: Attorney-General's Department Ms Karen Moore, Assistant Secretary, International Cooperation
	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 60) Mr Chris Tinning, First Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Development and Finance Division and Chief Economist Ms Stephanie Aeuckens, Director, Global Development Branch
	Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities Mr Richard Wood, Acting Executive Director, Portfolio Coordination and Research Division
	Department of Jobs and Small Business Mr Malcolm Greening, Branch Manager, Labour Market Strategy Group
	Department of the Treasury Ms Lisa Elliston, Division Head, International Policy and Engagement Division
2.00 pm	Break
2.15 pm	Australian Council for International Development (ACFID) (Submission 135) Mr Marc Purcell, Chief Executive Officer Ms Alice Ridge, Acting Director of Policy and Advocacy

# FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)

3.00 pm	Official development assistance: Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 60) Mr Chris Tinning, First Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Development and Finance Division and Chief Economist Ms Stephanie Aeuckens, Director, Global Development Branch
3.45 pm	Adjournment