

RURAL AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS AND TRANSPORT REFERENCES COMMITTEE

The need for regulation of mobility scooters, also known as motorised wheelchairs

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 23 July 2018

Edinburgh Room - Stamford Plaza 111 Little Collins Street, Melbourne

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Assistive Technology Suppliers Australasia (Submission 75) Mr David Sinclair, Executive Officer Mr Chris Sparks, Advisor
	Merits Australia (Submission 93) Mr Ian Rothall, Managing Director
9.15 am	Council on the Ageing Australia (Submission 101) Mr Corey Irlam, Director, Advocacy and Government Relations
	Combined Pensioners and Superannuants Association (via teleconference) (Submission 65) Ms Bronagh Power, Policy Officer
10.00 am	via teleconference: Australian Lawyers Alliance (Submission 99) Mr Andrew Stone SC, NSW President
10.45 am	Morning Tea
11.00 am	Monash University Department of Forensic Medicine (Submission 92) Professor Joan Ozanne-Smith AO, Head Injury Prevention Dr Richard Bassed, Head of Department
	CQ University Australia (Submission 97) Professor Carolyn Unsworth
	University of the Sunshine Coast Adolescent Risk Research Unit (Submission 100)
	Dr Bridie Scott-Parker, Leader and Senior Research Fellow (ARRU)
	Occupational Therapy Australia (Submission 94) Ms Anita Volkert, National Manager, Professional Practice and Development

12.00 pm	Multiple Sclerosis Australia (Submission 96) Ms Deidre Mackechnie, Chief Executive Officer Spinal Cord Injuries Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 81) Mr Greg Killeen, Senior Policy & Advocacy Officer Spinal Life Australia (Submission 128) Mr John Mayo, Chief Advisor - Government
1.00 pm	Lunch
2.00 pm	Australian Competition & Consumer Commission (Submission 87) Mr Tim Grimwade, Executive General Manager, Small Business and Product Safety Division Mr Neville Matthew, General Manager, Consumer Product Safety Branch Austroads Ltd (Submission 64) Mr Nick Koukoulas, Chief Executive Mr Michael Skinner, Director, Vision and Case, Registration and Licensing Modernisation, Department of Transport and Main Roads Queensland National Transport Commission (Submission 68) Dr Geoff Allan, Chief Operating Officer Mr Paul Davies, Acting Chief Planning Officer Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities (Submission 125) Ms Stephanie Werner, General Manager, Land Transport Policy and Safety Branch
3.15 pm	Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board's (MFB) (Submission 132) Mr Martin Braid, Assistant Chief Fire Officer and Director, Risk and Resilience Ms Julie Harris, Manager, At Risk Groups
4.00 pm	Adjournment