

## **COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE**

Value and affordability of private health insurance and out-of-pocket medical costs

## PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 31 October 2017

## Portside Room 2 Portside Centre, Level 5, 207 Kent Street, Sydney

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Medical Technology Association of Australia (Submission 79) Mr Ian Burgess, Chief Executive Officer Ms Andrea Kunca, Director, Access, Policy, Procurement and Innovation
9.00 am	Consumers Health Forum of Australia (Submission 17) Ms Leanne Wells, Chief Executive Officer Consumers Health Forum of Australia Ms Rebecca Randall, Research and Policy Officer  National Rural Health Alliance (via teleconference) (Submission 48) Mr John Dennehy, Deputy Chair Mr Mark Diamond, Interim Chief Executive Officer
	COTA Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 88) Mr Ian Yates, Chief Executive
9.45 am	Grattan Institute (Submission 72) Dr Stephen Duckett, Director, Health Program
10.30 am	Morning tea
10.45 am	Australian Dental Association (Submission 222) Dr Hugo Sachs, Federal President Mr Damian Mitsch, Chief Executive Officer  Australasian Academy of Paediatric Dentistry (Submission 25) Dr Daniel Ford, Treasurer
	Dr John Sheahan, Member
	Australian Association of Practice Management (Submission 16) Ms Gillian Leach, Chief Executive Officer (via teleconference) Mrs Cathy Baynie, Director and National President

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE
Value and affordability of private health insurance and out-of-pocket medical costs

5.00 pm	Adjournment
4.00 pm	Department of Health (Submission 127) Ms Penny Shakespeare, Acting Deputy Secretary, Health Benefits Group Mr Charles Maskell-Knight, Principal Adviser
	Mr Louis Serret, Acting Executive General Manager, Specialised Institutions Division Mr Michael Fermor, Senior Manager, Specialised Institutions Division  Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (via teleconference)  Mr Scott Gregson, Executive General Manager, Enforcement Division  Mr David Salisbury, General Manager, Consumer and Small Business Strategies
3.15 pm	HCF (Submission 10) Ms Sheena Jack, Chief Executive Officer  Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (Submission 73)
The Paris	Dr Rachel David, Chief Executive Officer <b>Bupa Australia</b> (Submission 43)  Dr Dwayne Crombie, Managing Director, Health Insurance Mr Adam Longshaw, Director, Health and Benefits
<b>1.15 pm</b> 2.15 pm	Lunch Private Healthcare Australia (Submission 18)
	Mrs Cathryn Ryan, Group Manager Health Funds, St John of God Health Care Inc <b>Australian Private Hospitals Association</b> (Submission 80)  Mr Michael Roff, Chief Executive Officer  Ms Lucy Cheetham, Director, Policy and Research
12.30 pm	Catholic Health Australia (Submission 238) Ms Annette Panzera, Director Health Policy
	Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricans and Gynaecologists (via teleconference) (Submission 51) Prof Stephen Robson, President Ms Alana Killen, Chief Executive Officer
	Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (Submission 57) Dr Kym Jenkins, President
11.30 am	Australian Medical Association (Submission 58) Dr Michael Gannon, President Ms Anne Trimmer, Secretary General Mr Luke Toy, Director, Medical Practice