

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Australian Education Amendment Bill 2017

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 5 June 2017

Committee room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Independent schools panel: Independent Schools Council of Australia (Submission 8) Ms Colette Colman, Executive Director Mr Barry Wallett, Deputy Executive Director
	Independent Schools Queensland (Submission 14) Mr David Robertson, Executive Director
	Association of Independent Schools of New South Wales (Submission 21) Dr Geoff Newcombe, Chief Executive
	Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia Ms Valerie Gould, Executive Director (via teleconference)
	Association of Independent Schools of the ACT Mr Andrew Wrigley, Executive Director
10.30 am	Morning tea
10.40 am	Catholic schools panel: National Catholic Education Commission (Submission 37) Ms Danielle Cronin, Acting Executive Director
	Queensland Catholic Education Commission Dr Lee-Anne Perry AM, Executive Director
	New South Wales Catholic Education Commission Mr Ian Baker, Policy and Programs
	Catholic Education Commission Victoria Mr Stephen Elder OAM, Executive Director Mr Bruce Phillips, Policy Advisor
	Archdiocese of Canberra Goulburn Mr Ross Fox, Director of Catholic Education
12.10 pm	Panel of State Ministers: to be confirmed
1.40 pm	Lunch

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Australian Education Amendment Bill 2017

2.20 pm	Principals panel: Australian Primary Principals Association (APPA) and Australian Catholic Primary Principals Association (ACPPA) and Australian Government Primary Principals Association (AGPPA) (Submission 32) Mr Dennis Yarrington, President of APPA Mr Michael Fay, APPA Board Member and President of AGPPA Mr Brad Gaynor, APPA Board Member and Vice President of ACPPA Australian Secondary Principals Association (Submission 16) Mr Rob Nairn, Executive Director Catholic Secondary Principals Australia Ms Loretta Wholley, School Principal Mr Angus Tulley, School Principal Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia (Submission 12) Mrs Karen Spiller, National Chair Mr Sholto Bowen OAM, Board Member Australian Special Education Principals Association Mr Matthew Johnson, National Board Vice Chairman and Executive Officer (via teleconference)
3.50 pm	Afternoon tea
4.00 pm	Department of Education and Training (Submission 23) Mr Tony Cook PSM, Associate Secretary, Schools and Youth Mr John Baker, Branch Manager, Schooling Group Ms Dannie Edmonds, Acting Branch Manager, Schooling Group Ms Alex Gordon, Group Manager, Schooling Group Australian Bureau of Statistics Ms Michelle Marquardt, Program Manager, Education, Crime & Culture Branch Mr Paul Jelfs, General Manager, Population & Social Statistics Division
5.30 pm	Adjournment