

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Complaints mechanism administered under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 17 March 2017

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Via teleconference: Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care Adjunct Professor Debora Picone AM, Chief Executive Officer Mr Mike Wallace, Chief Operating Officer Conjoint Professor Anne Duggan, Senior Medical Advisor
9.15 am	Via videoconference: University of Melbourne Dr Marie Bismark, Associate Professor Dr Matthew Spittal, Associate Professor The Australian National University Dr Judith Healy, Honorary Professor, RegHealth
10.00 am	Break
10.15 am	Via teleconference: Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council (Submission 75) Ms Amity Durham, Deputy Secretary, Portfolio Strategy and Reform, DHHS (Victoria) Mr Dean Raven, Director, Health and Human Services Branch, Department of Health and Human Services (Victoria) Department of Health Ms Lynne Gillam, Assistant Secretary Mr David Hallinan, First Assistant Secretary

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE
Complaints mechanism administered under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law

11.00 am	Roundtable: Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (Submission 41) Dr Edwin Kruys, Vice-President and Chair, RACGP Queensland
	Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Mr John Bivano, Acting Chief Executive Officer Mr John Quinn AM, Executive Director for Surgical Affairs
	Association of Family and Conciliation Courts (Australian Chapter) (Submission 38) Dr Jennifer Neoh, Secretary Ms Belinda Spong, Committee Member Dr David List, Board Member Dr Timothy Entwisle, Committee Member
11.45 am	Roundtable: MIGA (Submission 30) Mr Timothy Bowen, Senior Solicitor, Advocacy, Claims and Education Guild Insurance (Submission 48) Mr Rhett Clayton, National Liability Claims Manager Ms Nevena Brown, Principal, Meridian Lawyers Avant Mutual Group (Submission 50)
	Ms Georgie Haysom, Head of Advocacy (via teleconference)
12.30 pm	Adjournment