

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Migration and Maritime Powers Legislation Amendment (Resolving the Asylum Legacy Caseload) Bill 2014

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 14 November 2014

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Law Council of Australia (Submission 129) Ms Carina Ford, Steering Group, Migration Law Committee Ms Leonie Campbell, Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division Ms Nicola Knackstredt, Policy Lawyer, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division
9.15 am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 163) Professor Gillian Triggs, President (via teleconference) Mr Graeme Edgerton, Senior Lawyer (via teleconference)
10.00 am	Australian Red Cross (Submission 164) Mr Noel Clement, Head of Australian Services Ms Elisabeth de Vries, National Manager of Migration Support Programs
10.30 am	Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre (Submission 165) Mr Greg Hanson, Solicitor and Registered Migration Agent Mr David Manne, Executive Director, Principal Solicitor and Registered Migration Agent
11.00 am	Address by the Right Honourable David Cameron MP, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
12.30 pm	Migration Institute of Australia (Submission 44) Ms Angela Chan, National President Mr Nicholas Tebbey, Member, MIA Canberra

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Migration and Maritime Powers Legislation Amendment (Resolving the Asylum Legacy Caseload) Bill 2014

1.00 pm	Human Rights Law Centre (Submission 166) Mr Hugh de Kretser, Executive Director (via teleconference) Mr Rhys Ryan, Secondee Lawyer (via teleconference) Institute of International Law and Humanities, Melbourne Law School, and the Andrew & Renata Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law, UNSW (Submission 167) Dr Michelle Foster, Associate Professor, Director of the International Refugee Law Research Programme, Melbourne University Castan Centre for Human Rights Law (Submission 137) Dr Maria O'Sullivan, Associate Dr Patrick Emerton, Associate Migration Law Program, Australian National University (Submission 168) Mr Khanh Hoang, Associate Lecturer Mr Matthew Zagor, Senior Lecturer, ANU College of Law Panel: Refugee Council of Australia (Submission 136) Mr Paul Power, Chief Executive Officer Refugee Advice and Casework Service (Submission 134) Mr Scott Cosgriff, Senior Solicitor Mr Ali Mojtahedi, Solicitor Amnesty International (Submission 170) Dr Graham Thom, Refugee Coordinator
	UNICEF Mr Jack Regester, Advocacy Officer (via teleconference)
2.30 pm	Afternoon tea
2.45 pm	Department of Immigration and Border Protection (Submission 171) Ms Karen Visser, Director– Protection and Humanitarian Policy Section Department of Immigration and Border Protection Ms Vicki Parker, General Counsel– Legal Division Ms Alison Larkins, Acting Deputy Secretary – Policy Group
3.45 pm	Maurice Blackburn Lawyers (Submission 43) Mr Murray Watt, Senior Associate Mr Jacob Varghese, Principal
4.15 pm	Adjournment