

## FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

## Australia's future activities and responsibilities in the Southern Ocean and Antarctic waters

## PUBLIC HEARING Friday 26 September 2014

## **Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra**

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Dr Sam Bateman (via teleconference) (Submission 2)
9.45 am	Australian Academy of Science (Submission 5) Professor Kurt Lambeck FAA Professor Steven Chown Professor Anthony Worby, Expert Advisor on Antarctic Science
10.15 am	<ul> <li>Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 6)</li> <li>Dr Greg French, Assistant Secretary, International Legal Branch</li> <li>Mr Justin Whyatt, Director, Sea Law, Environment Law &amp; Antarctic Section</li> <li>Department of Defence (Submission 22)</li> <li>Mr Tyson Sara, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Policy</li> <li>Department of Agriculture (Submission 17)</li> <li>Ms Kelly Buchanan, Director Regional Fisheries and Treaties, Sustainability and Biosecurity Policy Division</li> <li>Mr Paul Pak Poy, Director Fisheries Reform, Sustainability and Biosecurity Policy Division</li> <li>Mr Ian Thompson, First Assistant Secretary, Sustainability and Biosecurity Policy Division</li> <li>Geoscience Australia (Submission 12)</li> </ul>
	Dr Clinton Foster, Chief Scientist Dr Chris Carson, Senior Antarctic Geoscientist
	Mr Gary Johnston, Group Leader
11.00 am	morning tea break

11.15 am	Australian Maritime Safety Authority (Submission 9) Mr Brad Groves, Acting Deputy Chief Executive Officer Ms Christine MacMillian, Manager Planning & Business Support, Emergency Response Division
	Australian Fisheries Management Authority (Submission 11) Mr Peter Venslovas, General Manager, Fisheries Operations Mr Trent Timmiss, Senior Manager, Tuna & International Fisheries
	Australian Customs and Border Protection Service (Submission 18) Mr Roman Quaedvlieg, Deputy Chief Executive Officer - Border Enforcement Mr Kingsley Woodford-Smith, Acting Commander, Border Protection Command
	<b>Department of Defence</b> (Submission 22) Air Vice-Marshal Gavin Davies, Deputy Chief of Air Force Rear Admiral Michael Van Balen, Deputy Chief of Navy