

H E A R I N G P R O G R A M

Supplementary Budget Estimates 2024–25 Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee

Monday, 4 November – Tuesday, 5 November 2024 Main Committee Room (MCR), Parliament House, Canberra

Times listed are indicative only



Hearing location

Main Committee Room (MCR), Parliament House, Canberra Waiting rooms: Committee Room 1S2, MCR Waiting Room 1, MCR Waiting Room 2 Waiting overflow room: Committee Room 1S3



Broadcasts of proceedings Television channel 110 Radio 92.7 <u>https://www.aph.gov.au/News_and_Events/Watch_ __Read_Listen</u>



Committee members

Senator Nita Green, Chair Senator Paul Scarr, Deputy Chair Senator Alex Antic Senator Varun Ghosh Senator Helen Polley Senator David Shoebridge

Ministers attending

Senator the Hon Murray Watt Senator the Hon Jenny McAllister

Secretariat

Sophie Dunstone, Committee Secretary Grace McElholum, Estimates Officer



Contact legcon.sen@aph.gov.au +61 2 6277 3560

Committee rooms

Main Committee Room (MCR): (02) 6277 5840 Committee Room 1S2: (02) 6277 5849 MCR Waiting Room 1: (02) 6277 4440/4245 MCR Waiting Room 2: (02) 6277 2346/5839 Committee Room 1S3: (02) 6277 5845



Questions on notice

Written questions on notice should be provided to the secretariat by **14 November 2024.**

Answers to questions taken on notice are due to the committee by **19 December 2024.**

Home Affairs Portfolio

9.00am	National Emergency Management Agency
10.00am	Department of Home Affairs (inc. Australian Border Force) Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters
10 . 30am	Morning tea
10.45am	Outcome 1: Protect Australia from national security and criminal threats, and support national resilience, through effective national coordination, policy and strategy development, and regional cooperation
	1.1 Transport Security
	1.2 National Security and Resilience
	1.3 Cyber Security
	1.4 Counter Terrorism
	1.5 Regional Cooperation
12.15pm	Lunch
1.00pm	Outcome 1 (continued)
2.00pm	Outcome 2: Support a prosperous and united Australia through effective coordination and delivery of immigration and social cohesion policies and programs 2.1 Migration 2.2 Visas 2.3 Refugee Humanitarian, Settlement and Migrant Services 2.4 UMA Offshore Management 2.5 Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship
4.30pm	Afternoon tea
4.45pm	Outcome 3: Advance a prosperous and secure Australia through trade and travel facilitation and modernisation, and effective customs, immigration, maritime and enforcement activities across the border continuum
	3.1 Trade Facilitation and Industry Engagement
	3.2 Border Management
	3.3 Border-Revenue Collection
	3.4 Border Enforcement
	3.5 Onshore Compliance and Detention
	3.5 Onshore comphance and Detention

Attorney-General's Portfolio

7.15pm	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
8.45pm	Tea break
9.00pm	Independent National Security Legislation Monitor
9.15pm	Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
9.30pm	Office of the Special Investigator
9.45pm	Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre
10.05pm	Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission
10.30pm	Adjournment

Tuesday, 5 November 2024

Attorney-General's Portfolio

9.00am	Attorney-General's Department Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters
11.00am	Morning tea
11.15am	Justice and Communities Group - encompassing: First Nations and Justice Policy Division (Criminal Justice Reform Taskforce, Native Title and Priority Reforms Branch, Legal Assistance Branch); Courts, Tribunals and Commercial Division (Courts and Tribunals Branch, Judicial Commission Taskforce, Commercial and Copyright Law Branch); Children and Families Division (Family Law Branch, Family and Community Safety Branch, National Office for Child Safety); and Administrative Review Taskforce (Legislation Branch, Implementation Branch).
1 2.45 pm	Lunch
1.30pm	National Security and Criminal Justice Group – encompassing: International and Security Cooperation Division (International Cooperation Unit, Pacific Branch, Identity and Biometrics Policy); Criminal Justice Division (Criminal Law Policy Branch, Transnational Crime Branch, Electronic Surveillance Branch, High Tech Crime Branch); and Security and Counter- Terrorism Division (Security Law and Policy Branch, High Risk Terrorist Offenders Branch, National Security Information Branch).
2.30pm	Integrity and International Group – encompassing: Integrity Frameworks Division (Fraud Prevention and Anti-Corruption Branch, Information Law Branch, Transparency and Administrative Law Branch, Privacy Reform Taskforce); International Law and Human Rights Division (General Counsel, Office of International Law, Human Rights Branch,); and Legal Services and Modern Slavery Division (Royal Commissions Branch, Office of Legal Services Coordination, Office of Constitutional Law, Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking Branch).

3.15pm	Afternoon tea
3.30pm	Australian Federal Police
5.30pm	Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
6.00pm	Dinner
6.45pm	Australian Human Rights Commission
	Mr Hugh de Kretser, President Ms Katie Kiss, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner (via videoconference) Mr Robert Fitzgerald AM, Age Discrimination Commissioner (via videoconference) Ms Anne Hollonds, National Children's Commissioner Ms Rosemary Kayess, Disability Discrimination Commissioner (via videoconference) Ms Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner Mr Giridharan Sivaraman, Race Discrimination Commissioner (via videoconference) Dr Anna Cody, Sex Discrimination Commissioner Ms Leanne Smith, Chief Executive
8.00pm	Administrative Appeals Tribunal/Administrative Review Tribunal
8.30pm	National Anti-Corruption Commission
9.00pm	Tea break
9.15pm	Federal Circuit Court and Family Court of Australia
9.45pm	Federal Court of Australia
10.10pm	Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
10.20pm	Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
10.30pm	Adjournment