

H E A R I N G P R O G R A M

Budget Estimates 2025–26

Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee

Thursday, 27 March, Monday, 31 March and Tuesday, 1 April 2025 **Main Committee Room (MCR)**, Parliament House, Canberra

Dates for the 2025-26 Budget estimates hearings are pursuant to the resolution of the Senate of 25 March 2025.

Times listed are indicative only, * indicates interstate agency



Hearing location

Main Committee Room (MCR), Parliament House, Canberra Waiting rooms: Committee Room 1S2, MCR Waiting Room 1, MCR Waiting Room 2 Waiting overflow room: Committee Room 1S3



Broadcasts of proceedings Television channel 110 Radio 92.7 https://www.aph.gov.au/Watch Read Listen



Contact legcon.sen@aph.gov.au +61 2 6277 3560

Committee rooms

Main Committee Room (MCR): (02) 6277 5840 Committee Room 1S2: (02) 6277 5849 MCR Waiting Room 1: (02) 6277 4440/4245 MCR Waiting Room 2: (02) 6277 2346/5839 Committee Room 1S3: (02) 6277 5845



Committee members

Senator Nita Green, Chair Senator Paul Scarr, Deputy Chair Senator Alex Antic Senator Varun Ghosh Senator Helen Polley Senator David Shoebridge

Ministers attending

Senator the Hon Jenny McAllister Senator the Hon Murray Watt Senator the Hon Don Farrell

Secretariat

Sophie Dunstone, Committee Secretary Senal Kiridena, Estimates Officer



Questions on notice

Written questions on notice should be provided to the secretariat by **16 April 2025.**

Answers to questions taken on notice are due to the committee by **29 May 2025.**

Thursday, 27 March 2025

Home Affairs Portfolio

9.00am	Department of Home Affairs (incl. Australian Border Force) Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters
10.00am	Morning tea
10.15am	Outcome 1: Protect Australia from national security and criminal threats, and support national resilience, through effective national coordination, policy and strategy development, and regional co-operation 1.1 Transport Security 1.2 National Security and Resilience 1.3 Cyber Security 1.4 Counter Terrorism 1.5 Regional Cooperation
12.05pm	Lunch
12.50pm	Outcome 2: Support a prosperous and united Australia through effective coordination and delivery of immigration and social cohesion policies and programs 2.1 Migration 2.2 Visas 2.3 Refugee Humanitarian, Settlement and Migrant Services 2.4 UMA Offshore Management 2.5 Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship
2.20pm	Outcome 3: Advance a prosperous and secure Australia through trade and travel facilitation and modernisation, and effective customs, immigration, maritime and enforcement activities across the border continuum 3.1 Trade Facilitation and Industry Engagement 3.2 Border Management 3.3 Border-Revenue Collection 3.4 Border Enforcement 3.5 Onshore Compliance and Detention
4.30pm	Afternoon tea

Attorney-General's Portfolio

4.45pm	Australian Federal Police
7.15pm	Dinner
8.00pm	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
9.15pm	Tea break

9.30pm	National Anti-Corruption Commission
10.30pm	Adjournment

Home Affairs Portfolio

9.00am	National Emergency Management Agency
10.00am	Morning tea
10.15am	Department of Home Affairs (incl. Australian Border Force) Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters
12.00pm	Lunch
12.45pm	Outcome 1: Protect Australia from national security and criminal threats, and support national resilience, through effective national coordination, policy and strategy development, and regional co-operation 1.1 Transport Security 1.2 National Security and Resilience 1.3 Cyber Security 1.4 Counter Terrorism 1.5 Regional Cooperation
3.25pm	Afternoon tea
3.40pm	Outcome 2: Support a prosperous and united Australia through effective coordination and delivery of immigration and social cohesion policies and programs 2.1 Migration 2.2 Visas 2.3 Refugee Humanitarian, Settlement and Migrant Services 2.4 UMA Offshore Management 2.5 Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship
6.40pm	Dinner
7.25pm	Outcome 3: Advance a prosperous and secure Australia through trade and travel facilitation and modernisation, and effective customs, immigration, maritime and enforcement activities across the border continuum 3.1 Trade Facilitation and Industry Engagement 3.2 Border Management 3.3 Border-Revenue Collection 3.4 Border Enforcement 3.5 Onshore Compliance and Detention
9.15pm	Tea break
9.30pm	Outcome 3 (cont.)
10.30pm	Adjournment

Tuesday, 1 April 2025

Attorney-General's Portfolio

Attorney-General's Department
Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters
Morning tea
Justice and Communities Group - Encompassing: First Nations and Justice Policy Division (First Nations and Justice Policy Division, First Nations Justice Branch, Native Title and Priority Reforms Branch, Legal Assistance Branch, Justice Agreement Taskforce, National Justice Reinvestment Branch); Courts and Commercial Division (Federal Courts Branch, Commercial and Copyright Law Branch, Commercial Unit); and Children and Families Division (Family Law Branch, Family and Community Safety Branch, National Office for Child Safety).
National Security and Criminal Justice Group – Encompassing: International and Security Cooperation Division (International Cooperation Unit, Pacific Branch, Identity and Biometrics Policy); Criminal Justice Division (Criminal Law Policy Branch, Transnational Crime Branch, High Tech Crime Branch); and Security and Counter-Terrorism Division (Security Law and Policy Branch, High Risk Terrorist Offenders Branch, National Security Information Branch).
Lunch
Integrity and International Group – Encompassing: Integrity Frameworks Division (Fraud Prevention & Anti-Corruption Branch, Information Law Branch, Privacy Reform Taskforce, Transparency Frameworks Branch); International Law and Human Rights Division (General Counsel, Office of International Law, Human Rights Branch); and Public Law and Modern Slavery Division (Office of Constitutional Law, Administrative Law Branch, Office of Legal Services Coordination, Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking).
Australian Human Rights Commission* Mr Hugh de Kretser, President Ms Katie Kiss, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner Mr Robert Fitzgerald AM, Age Discrimination Commissioner Ms Anne Hollonds, Children's Commissioner Ms Rosemary Kayess, Disability Discrimination Commissioner Ms Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner Mr Giridharan Sivaraman, Race Discrimination Commissioner Dr Anna Cody, Sex Discrimination Commissioner Ms Leanne Smith, Chief Executive
Afternoon tea
Administrative Review Tribunal*
Australian Financial Security Authority*

4.35pm	Australian Law Reform Commission*
5.00pm	Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions*
5.20pm	Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
	National Student Ombudsman
6.20pm	Dinner
7.05pm	Federal Circuit Court and Family Court of Australia*
8.05pm	Federal Court of Australia*
9.15pm	Tea break
9.30pm	Office of the Australian Information Commissioner*
10.15pm	Office of the Special Investigator
10.30pm	Adjournment