

#### HEARING PROGRAM

### **Additional Estimates 2024–25**

Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee

Monday, 24 February – Tuesday, 25 February 2025

Main Committee Room (MCR), Parliament House, Canberra

Times listed are indicative only, \* indicates interstate agency



#### **Hearing location**

Main Committee Room (MCR), Parliament House, Canberra

Waiting rooms: Committee Room 1S2, MCR Waiting

Room 1, MCR Waiting Room 2

Waiting overflow room: Committee Room 1S3



#### **Broadcasts of proceedings**

Television channel 110 Radio 92.7 https://www.aph.gov.au/Watch Read Listen



#### Contact

legcon.sen@aph.gov.au +61 2 6277 3560

#### **Committee rooms**

Main Committee Room (MCR): (02) 6277 5840 Committee Room 1S2: (02) 6277 5849 MCR Waiting Room 1: (02) 6277 4440/4245 MCR Waiting Room 2: (02) 6277 2346/5839 Committee Room 1S3: (02) 6277 5845



#### **Committee members**

Senator Nita Green, Chair Senator Paul Scarr, Deputy Chair Senator Varun Ghosh Senator Helen Polley Senator David Shoebridge Senator Alex Antic

#### Ministers attending

Senator the Hon Jenny McAllister

Senator the Hon Murray Watt

Senator the Hon Don Farrell

#### **Secretariat**

Sophie Dunstone, Committee Secretary Senal Kiridena, Estimates Officer



#### **Questions on notice**

Written questions on notice should be provided to the secretariat by **6 March 2025.** 

Answers to questions taken on notice are due to the committee by **24 March 2025.** 

# Monday, 24 February 2025

## Home Affairs Portfolio

110IIIC 1 III a	
9.00am	National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA)
10.15am	Morning tea
10.30am	National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) (cont'd)
10.45am	Department of Home Affairs (incl. Australian Border Force)
	Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters
11.45am	Outcome 1: Deliver national coordination, regulation and policy that safeguard Australia's domestic interests from national security threats, including cyber threats.  1.1 Transport Security  1. O Notional Security and Parillance
	1.2 National Security and Resilience 1.3 Cyber Security
	1.4 Counter Terrorism
	1.5 Regional Cooperation
12.30pm	Lunch
1.15pm	Outcome 1 (cont'd)
2.00pm	Outcome 2: Support a united and prosperous Australia through effective coordination and delivery of immigration and citizenship policy and programs underpinned by robust integrity and assurance.  2.1 Migration 2.2 Visas 2.3 Refugee Humanitarian, Settlement and Migrant Services 2.4 UMA Offshore Management 2.5 Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship
3.15pm	Afternoon tea
3.30pm	Outcome 2 (cont'd)
4.00pm	Outcome 3: Advance a prosperous and secure Australia through trade and travel facilitation and modernisation, and effective customs, immigration, maritime and enforcement activities across the border continuum.  3.1 Trade Facilitation and Industry Engagement 3.2 Border Management 3.3 Border-Revenue 3.4 Border Enforcement 3.5 Onshore Compliance and Detention
6.45pm	Dinner

## Attorney-General's Portfolio

7.30pm	Outcome 3 (cont'd)
8.30pm	Federal Court of Australia (FCA)*
9.00pm	Tea break
9.15pm	Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (FCFCoA)*
9.45pm	National Anti-Corruption Commission (NACC)
10.15pm	Office of the Special Investigator (OSI)
10.30pm	Adjournment

# Tuesday, 25 February 2025

Attorney-General's Portfolio

	Attorney-General's Portiono		
9.00am	Attorney-General's Department		
	Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters		
10.00am	Morning tea		
10.15am	Justice and Communities Group - Encompassing: First Nations and Justice Policy Division (First Nations Justice Branch, Native Title and Priority Reforms Branch, Legal Assistance, Justice Agreement Taskforce); Courts and Commercial Division (Federal Courts Branch, Commercial and Copyright Law Branch, Commercial Unit); and Children and Families Division (Family Law Branch, Family and Community Safety Branch, National Office for Child Safety).		
11.15am	National Security and Criminal Justice Group – Encompassing: International and Security Cooperation Division (International Cooperation Unit, Pacific Branch, Identity and Biometrics Policy); Criminal Justice Division (Criminal Law Policy Branch, Transnational Crime Branch, High Tech Crime Branch); and Security and Counter-Terrorism Division (Security Law and Policy Branch, High Risk Terrorist Offenders Branch, National Security Information Branch).		
12.30pm	Lunch		
1.15pm	Integrity and International Group – Encompassing: Integrity Frameworks Division (Fraud Prevention and Anti-Corruption Branch, Information Law Branch, Privacy Reform Taskforce, Transparency Frameworks Branch); International Law and Human Rights Division (General Counsel, Office of International Law, Human Rights Branch); and Legal Services and Modern Slavery Division (Office Of Constitutional Law, Administrative Law Branch, Office of Legal Services Coordination, Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking).		
2.15pm	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO)		
3.10pm	Afternoon tea		
3.25pm	Australian Federal Police (AFP)		
5.25pm	Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC)*		
5.45pm	Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC)*  Mr Hugh de Kretser, President Ms Katie Kiss, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner Mr Robert Fitzgerald AM, Age Discrimination Commissioner Ms Anne Hollonds, Children's Commissioner Ms Rosemary Kayess, Disability Discrimination Commissioner Ms Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner Mr Giridharan Sivaraman, Race Discrimination Commissioner Dr Anna Cody, Sex Discrimination Commissioner Ms Leanne Smith, Chief Executive		

6.45pm	Dinner
7.30pm	Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
	National Student Ombudsman
8.oopm	Australian Law Reform Commission (ALRC)*
8.30pm	Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC)*
9.00pm	Tea break
9.15pm	Administrative Review Tribunal (ART)*
9.45pm	Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions (CDPP)*
10.00pm	Inspector of the National Anti-Corruption Commission*
10.30pm	Adjournment