The Senate BUSINESS OF COMMITTEES

This document is issued as a guide to Senators Business listed is subject to change

It should be noted that times allocated for the consideration of outcomes, items and agencies within portfolios are indicative only.

Senators, staff and departments should liaise with secretariats on the progress of portfolios during the estimates process.

SENATE ECONOMICS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Public Hearings: BUDGET ESTIMATES FOR 2018-19

Tuesday, 29 May to Thursday, 31 May and Tuesday, 5 June 2018

Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House Canberra ACT

To be televised on Channel 109/Radio 98.3 <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/News_and_Events/Watch_Parliament</u>

AGENDA

TUESDAY, 29 MAY 2018

	Treasury Portfolio
9.00am–10.45am 1 hour 45 mins	Department of the Treasury–Macroeconomic Group (with Corporate Group) [†]
†Treasury has one outcome and six main groups.	Outcome 1: Informed decisions on the development and implementation of policies to improve the wellbeing of the Australian people, including by achieving strong, sustainable economic growth, through the provision of advice to government and the efficient administration of federal financial relations. [†] (<i>The Secretary of the Treasury appears with the Macroeconomic</i> <i>Group.</i>)
10.45am-11.00am	Morning tea break

11.00am–12.30pm <i>1 hour 30 mins</i>	Department of the Treasury–Macroeconomic Group (with Corporate Group) (continued)	
12.30pm–1.30pm 1.30pm–4.00pm	Lunch break	
2 hours 30 mins	Department of the Treasury–Fiscal Group	
4.00pm-4.15pm	Afternoon break	
4.15pm–6.30pm 2 hours 15 mins	Department of the Treasury–Fiscal Group (continued)	
6.30pm-7.30pm	Dinner break	
7.30pm–9.00pm	Department of the Treasury – Markets Group	
1 hour 30 mins	(including the Foreign Investment Division)	
9.00pm–9.15pm	Evening break	
9.15pm–10.30pm 1 hour 15mins	Department of the Treasury – Structural Reform Group	
10.30pm-11.00pm	Royal Australian Mint	
30 mins		
	Adjournment	
30 mins		
30 mins	Adjournment Morning tea 10.45am - 11.00am	
30 mins 11.00pm	Adjournment Morning tea 10.45am – 11.00am Lunch 12.30pm – 1.30pm	
30 mins 11.00pm	Adjournment Morning tea 10.45am – 11.00am Lunch 12.30pm – 1.30pm Afternoon tea 4.00pm – 4.15pm	
30 mins 11.00pm	Adjournment Morning tea 10.45am – 11.00am Lunch 12.30pm – 1.30pm	

WEDNESDAY, 30 MAY 2018

*Interstate	Tues gum Doutfolie (continue	(\mathbf{A}, \mathbf{A})	
agencies/programs	Treasury Portfolio (continued)		
9.00am–11.00am	Department of the Treasury–Revenue Group with		
2 hours			
	Australian Taxation Office (ATO)		
Revenue Group and	Australian Charities and Not-for profits Commission (ACNC)		
ATO appearing in same session			
same session			
11.00am–11.15am	Morning tea break		
11.15am-12.15pm	Department of the Treasury–Revenue Group (continued)		
1 hour	Australian Taxation Office (ATO)		
	Australian Charities and Not-for pro	ofits Commission (ACNC)	
12.15pm–1.15pm	Lunch break		
1.15pm–3.15pm	Australian Competition and Consu	mer Commission (ACCC)*	
2 hours	with the Australian Energy Regulator (AER)*		
3.15pm–3.30pm	Afternoon break		
3.30pm-5.00pm	Australian Prudential Regulation Au	thority (APRA)*	
1 hour 30 mins			
5.00pm-6.00pm	Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC)*		
1 hour			
6.00pm-7.00pm	Dinner break		
7.00pm-8.30pm	Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC)*		
1 hour 30 mins	(continued)		
8.30pm-8.45pm	Evening break		
8.45pm–9.30pm	Productivity Commission (PC)*		
45 mins			
9.30 pm-10.00pm	Commonwealth Grants Commission (CGC)		
30 mins			
10.00 pm-10.30pm	Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)		
30 mins			
10.30pm–11.00pm	Inspector General of Taxation (IGT)*		
<i>30 mins</i>			
11.00pm	Adjournment		
Proposed breaks	Morning tea	11.00am – 11.15am	
r roposeu breaks	Lunch	12.15pm – 1.15pm	
	Afternoon tea	3.15pm – 3.30pm	
	Dinner	6.30pm – 7.30pm	
	Tea Break	8.30pm – 8.45pm	
	I ou DIoun	oloopiii oliopiii	

THURSDAY, 31 MAY 2018

*Interstate	Industry, Innovation and S	cience Portfolio	
agencies/programs	mustry, milovation and S		
9.00am–11.00am 2 hours	Department of Industry—Cross-portfolio/ Programme 3 Sub-programme 3.1: Simplifying doing business Sub-programme 3.2: Building a high performance organisation 		
11.00am–11.15am	Morning tea break		
11.15am–12.30pm <i>1 hour 15 mins</i>	 Department of Industry—Programme 1 Sub-programme 1.1: Science awareness, infrastructure and international engagement Sub-programme 1.2: Business research, development and commercialisation 		
12.30pm–1.30pm	Lunch break		
1.30pm–2.15pm <i>30 mins</i>	Department of Industry—Programme 1 (continued)		
2.15pm–4.15pm 2 hours	 Department of Industry—Programme 2 Sub-programme 2.1: Competitive marketplace Sub-programme 2.2: Business and market development Sub-programme 2.3: Economic transition 		
4.15pm-4.30pm	Afternoon tea break		
4.30pm–5.00pm <i>30 mins</i>	Office of Innovation and Science Australia		
5.00pm–5.45pm 45 mins	Anti-Dumping Commission		
5.45pm–6.30pm 45 mins	Office of the Chief Scientist		
6.30pm-7.30pm	Dinner break		
7.30pm–8.15pm 45 mins	Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)*		
8.15pm–9.00pm 45 mins	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)		
9.00pm–9.15pm	Evening break		
9.15pm–10.30pm <i>1 hour 15 mins</i>	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) (continued)		
10.30pm–11.00pm <i>30 mins</i>	IP Australia		
11.00pm	Adjournment		
Proposed breaks	Morning tea Lunch Afternoon tea	11.00am – 11.15am 12.30pm – 1.30pm 4.15pm – 4.30pm	
	Dinner	6.30pm – 7.30pm	
	Tea Break	9.00pm – 9.15pm	

TUESDAY, 5 JUNE 2018

*Interstate	Industry and Science Portfolio (continued)				
agencies/programs	industry and Science				
9.00am–10.00am	Department of Industry—I	Programme 2			
1 hour	 Sub-programme 2.4: 				
	(including the National Offshore Petroleum Titles Administrator–				
	NOPTA)	- 55			
10.00am–11.00am	Department of Industry—I	Programme 2			
1 hour	 Sub-programme 2.5: Northern Australia Development 				
		of Northern Australia and the Northern			
	Australia Infrastructur	e Facility)			
11.00am–11.15am	Morning tea break	Morning tea break			
11.15am-12.00pm	National Offshore Petroleu	m Safety Environmental Management			
45 mins	Authority (NOPSEMA)*				
12.00pm-12.30pm	Geoscience Australia				
30 mins					
12.30pm-1.00pm	Australian Institute of Mar	Australian Institute of Marine Science			
30 mins					
1.00pm-2.00pm	Lunch break				
2.00pm-3.00pm	Department of Industry—I				
1 hour		Competitive marketplace			
		 Sub-programme 2.2: Business and market development 			
	 Sub-programme 2.3: 	Economic transition			
2 00 2 00					
3.00pm–3.30pm <i>30 mins</i>	IP Australia				
3.30pm–4.00pm 30 mins	Inspector General of Taxation (IGT)*				
4.00pm	Aajournment	Adjournment			
Duonogod bussles	Moming too	11.00om 11.15om			
Proposed breaks	Morning tea	11.00am – 11.15am			
	Lunch	1.00pm – 2.00pm			
Committee Chair: Senato	or Jane Hume				
	Committee Secretary: Mr Mark Fitt Contact: Ms Sarah Batts (02) 6277 3532				
Email: economics.sen@a					
	Tel: (02) 6277 2272 Fax: (02) 6277	8413			
	: (02) 6277 2270 Fax: (02) 6277 23				
,, anni 100000, 2102 101	(02) 0277 2270 1 un (02) 0277 22				