

H E A R I N G PROGRAM

Additional Budget Estimates 2024–25 Economics Legislation Committee

Wednesday, 26 February and Thursday, 27 February 2025 **Committee Room 2R1**, Parliament House, Canberra

Times listed are indicative only



Hearing location Committee Room 2R1,

Parliament House, Canberra Waiting room: Committee Room 2R2 Overflow waiting room: Committee Room 1S1



Broadcasts of proceedings Television channel 109

Radio 98.3 https://www.aph.gov.au/News and Eve nts/Watch Parliament



Contact economics.sen@aph.gov.au +61 2 6277 3540

Committee rooms Committee Room 2R1: (02) 6277 2986 Committee Room 2R2: (02) 6277 2270



Committee members Senator Jess Walsh (Chair) Senator Andrew Bragg (Deputy Chair) Senator Deborah O'Neill Senator Jana Stewart Senator Nick McKim Senator Dean Smith

Ministers attending

Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher, representing the Treasurer Senator the Hon Tim Ayres, representing the Treasurer, representing the Minister for Industry and Science, and representing the Minister for Resources

Secretariat

Dr Sean Turner, Committee Secretary

Mr Flynn Benson, Estimates Officer

Questions on Notice

Written questions on notice due:

4 March 2025

Answers to Questions on Notice due:

24 March 2025

Wednesday, 26 February 2025

Treasury Portfolio

9.00am (120 mins) 11.00am	Department of the Treasury Including Dr Steven Kennedy PSM (until 11am) Macroeconomic Group International and Foreign Investment Group Break (10) Department of the Treasury
(60 mins)	Macroeconomic Group (Cont.) International and Foreign Investment Group (Cont.)
12.10pm (120 mins)	Department of the Treasury Small Business, Housing, Corporate and Law Group
2.10pm	Lunch (45)
2.55pm (35mins)	Department of the Treasury
	Fiscal Group
3.30pm (60mins)	Department of the Treasury Markets Group
4.30pm (45 mins)	Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
5.15pm	Break (10)
5.25pm (45 mins)	Australian Prudential Regulation Authority
6.10pm	Dinner (45)
6.55pm (80 mins)	Department of the Treasury Revenue Group Australian Taxation Office Tax Practitioners Board Australian Charities and Not-for-Profit Commission

8.15pm	Break (10)
8.25pm (60 mins)	Housing Australia
9.25pm (20 mins)	Australian Bureau of Statistics
9.45pm (15 mins)	Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman
10.00pm	Adjournment

Thursday, 27 February 2025

Treasury Portfolio

9.00am (90 mins)	Reserve Bank of Australia
10.30am	Break (10)
10.40am (45 mins)	Australian Securities and Investments Commission
11.25am (15 mins)	Productivity Commission

Industry, Science and Resources Portfolio

11.40am (30 mins)	Department of Industry, Science and Resources Corporate, Enabling and Business Services
12.10pm	Lunch (45)
12.55pm (105 mins)	Department of Industry, Science and Resources Outcome 1: Support economic growth, productivity and job creation for all Australians by investing in science and technology, growing innovative and competitive businesses, industries and regions, and supporting resources sector.
	Program 1.1: Growing innovative and competitive businesses, industries and regions Manufacturing and National Reconstruction Fund Anti-Dumping Commission Australian Building Codes Board
2.40pm (30 mins)	National Reconstruction Fund Corporation
3.10pm	Break (10)
3.20pm (75 mins)	Department of Industry, Science and Resources Outcome 1: (Continued) Program 1.2: Investing in science, technology and commercialisation
	The Chief Scientist Office of Industry Innovation and Science Australia
4.35pm (75 mins)	Department of Industry, Science and Resources Outcome 1: (Continued) Program 1.3: Supporting a strong resources sector Topics and entities Minerals and Resources Oil and Gas
5.50pm	Dinner (45)

6.35pm (75 mins)	Department of Industry, Science and Resources Outcome 1: (Continued) Program 1.3: (Cont.) Topics and entities Radioactive Waste Management Maralinga Maintenance and Site Remediation National Offshore Petroleum Titles Administrator Australian Radioactive Waste Agency Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation
7 .50pm (45 mins)	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
8.35pm	Break (10)
8.45pm (45 mins)	National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority
9.30pm (30 mins)	Geoscience Australia
10.00pm	Adjournment