The Senate BUSINESS OF COMMITTEES

This document is issued as a guide to Senators Business listed is subject to change

It should be noted that times allocated for the consideration of outcomes, items and agencies within portfolios are indicative only.

Senators, staff and departments should liaise with secretariats on the progress of portfolios during the estimates process.

SENATE ECONOMICS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Public Hearings: ADDITIONAL ESTIMATES FOR 2017–18

Wednesday, 28 February to Thursday, 1 March 2018 (and if required Friday, 2 March 2018)

> Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House Canberra ACT

To be televised on Channel 109/Radio 98.3 <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/News_and_Events/Watch_Parliament</u>

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, 28 FEBRUARY 2018

*Interstate agencies/programs	Treasury Portfolio	
†Treasury has one	Department of the Treasury-Macroeconomic Group (with	
outcome and five main	Corporate Group)	
groups	Outcome: Informed decisions on the development and implementation of policies to improve the wellbeing of the Australian people, including by achieving strong, sustainable economic growth, through the provision of advice to government and the efficient administration of federal financial relations. [†]	
9.00am–11.15am 2 hours 15 mins	(The Secretary of the Treasury appears with the Macroeconomic Group.)	
11.15am–11.30am	Morning tea break	

11.30am–1.00pm 1 hour 30 mins	Department of the Treasury–Markets Group (Foreign Investment Review Board appearing with the Markets Group)	
1.00pm-2.00pm	Lunch break	
Revenue Group, ACNC and ATO appearing in same session. Session to commence with the ACNC.	Department of the Treasury–Revenue Group Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC)*	
2.00pm–4.00pm 2 hours		
4.00pm-4.15pm	Afternoon tea break	
4.15pm–6.15pm 2 hours	Department of the Treasury–Fiscal Group	
6.15pm-7.15pm	Dinner break	
7.15pm–8.00pm 45 mins	Department of the Treasury–Structural Reform Group	
8.00pm-8.45pm	Australian Securities and Investments Commission	
45 mins	(ASIC)*	
8.45pm–9.00pm	Tea break	
9.00pm–9.45pm 45 mins	Australian Securities and Investments Commission	
	(ASIC)* (continued)	
9.45pm–10.15pm 30 mins	Productivity Commission (PC)*	
10.15pm–11.00pm 45 mins	Commonwealth Grants Commission (moved to Thursday 1 March 2018 at 9.00am)	
11.00pm	Adjournment	

Proposed breaks	Morning tea break	11.15am–11.30am
	Lunch break	1.00pm-2.00pm
	Afternoon tea break	4.00pm-4.15pm
	Dinner break	6.15pm–7.15pm
	Tea break	8.45pm–9.00pm

THURSDAY, 1 MARCH 2018

*Interstate agencies/programs	Treasury Portfolio (continued)
9.00am–9.30am <i>30 minutes</i>	Commonwealth Grants Commission
9.30am–10.30am <i>1 hour</i>	Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)* with the Australian Energy Regulator (AER)*
10.30am–10.45am	Morning tea break
10.45am–12.15pm <i>1 hour 30 mins</i>	Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA)*
12.15pm–1.15pm	Lunch break

*Interstate agencies/programs	Industry, Innovation and Science Portfolio
1.15pm–1.45pm 30 mins	Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)*
1.45pm–2.15pm 30 mins	Anti-Dumping Commission
2.15pm–3.30pm 1 hour 15 mins	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
3.30pm-3.45pm	Afternoon tea break
3.45pm-4.30pm 45 mins	Office of Innovation and Science Australia
	Department of Industry, Innovation and Science †The department has one outcome and 3 programmes.
4.30pm–5.30pm <i>1 hour</i>	Programme 1: Supporting Science and Commercialisation 1.1 Science Awareness, Infrastructure and International Engagement
	1.2 Business Research, Development and Commercialisation
5.30pm–6.15pm <i>45 mins</i>	 Programme 2: Growing Business Investment and Improving Business Capability 2.1 Competitive Marketplace 2.2 Business and Market Development 2.3 Economic Transition
6.15pm-7.15pm	Dinner break
7.15pm–8.15pm 1 hour	Cross-portfolio/Corporate/Programme 3: Programme support 3.1 Streamlining Regulation 3.2 Building a High Performance Organisation
8.15pm–8.45pm 30 mins	Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM, Secretary, Department of Health

	(previously Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science)
8.45pm-9.00pm	Tea break
9.00pm-11.00pm	2.4 Resources (includes NOPTA*)
2 hours	2.5 Energy (on 19 July 2016 programme 2.5 was
	transferred to the Department of Environment and
	Energy)
	2.6 Office of Northern Australia*
	Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility (NAIF) appears in Programme 2.6.
11.00pm	Adjournment

Proposed breaks	Morning tea	10.30am–10.45am
	Lunch break	12.15pm–1.15pm
	Afternoon tea	3.30pm-3.45pm
	Dinner break	6.15pm–7.15pm
	Tea break	8.45pm–9.00pm

Committee Chair: Senator Hume
Committee Secretary: Mr Mark Fitt
Contact: Name of contact officer: Ms Sarah Batts (02) 6277 3532
Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au
Committee Room: 2R1 Tel: (02) 6277 2272 Fax: (02) 6277 8413
Waiting Room: 2R2 Tel: (02) 6277 2270 Fax: (02) 6277 2367