Note from Secretariat

Table 2.1, at page 12 of the report, omitted South Australia from the table. The following table includes South Australia.

Table 2.1—The dates that each jurisdiction commenced participation in the redress scheme, and on which government institutions were first declared

Jurisdiction	Date bill referring powers to Commonwealth was Assented	First declaration of government institutions ¹
New South Wales ²	23 May 2018 (Prior to the commencement of the scheme)	20 September 2018
Victoria ³	13 June 2018 (Prior to the commencement of the scheme)	20 September 2018
Tasmania ⁴	5 October 2018	1 November 2018
Queensland ⁵	28 September 2018	19 November 2018
Western Australia ⁶	5 December 2018	1 January 2019
South Australia ⁷	22 November 2018	1 February 2019
Australian Capital Territory ⁸	Territories were not required to refer powers. The Act provides	20 September 2018
Northern Territory ⁹	that the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory are participating jurisdictions.	16 November 2018

These dates reflect the date on which the relevant part of the Declaration commenced.

² New South Wales Government Gazette, No. 54, 1 June 2018, p. 3122; section 6 of the National Redress Scheme for Institutional Child Sexual Abuse Declaration 2018 (the Declaration), Compilation No. 1, 20 September 2018.

³ *Victoria Government Gazette, No. S* 274, 13 June 2018, p. 1; section 7 of the Declaration, Compilation No. 1, 20 September 2018.

⁴ *Tasmania Government Gazette, No. 21 832*, 10 October 2018, p. 936; section 8A of the Declaration, Compilation No. 3, 1 November 2018.

⁵ *Queensland Government Gazette, No.* 29, 5 October 2018, p. 137; section 8C of the Declaration, Compilation No. 5, 19 November 2018.

⁶ Western Australia Government Gazette, No. 186, 11 December 2018, p. 4723; section 8D of the Declaration, Compilation No. 9, 1 January 2019.

South Australian Government Gazette, No. 68, 22 November 2018, p. 4011; section 8E of the Declaration, Compilation No. 11, 1 February 2019.

⁸ Section 143 of the Act; also see the definition of 'participating Territory' at section 6 of the Act; section 8 of the Declaration, Compilation No. 1, 20 September 2018.

⁹ Section 8B of the Declaration, Compilation No. 4, 16 November 2018.