

THE SENATE

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

23 June 2022

Application of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in Australia

On 29 March 2022, the Senate referred an inquiry into the application of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in Australia to the Legal and Constitutional Affairs References Committee for inquiry and report by 15 September 2022.

To date, the committee has received 56 submissions. However, the prorogation of the 46th Parliament on 11 April 2022 prevented the committee from progressing the inquiry.

Noting the above, and as the composition of the Senate changes on 1 July 2022, the committee considers it appropriate for the Senate in the 47th Parliament to resolve whether or not this inquiry should be re-referred.

Yours sincerely,

Senator the Hon Kim Carr Chair

Appendix 1 Submissions and additional information

- 1 HESTA
- 2 Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (ANFA)
- 3 Save the Children Australia
- 4 UNSW Law Society
- 5 ACT Human Rights Commission
- 6 ANU Law Reform and Social Justice Research Hub
- 7 Life Without Barriers
- 8 Maurice Blackburn Lawyers
- 9 Voices of Influence Australia
- 10 Commissioner for Children and Young People Western Australia
- 11 Australian Greens First Nations Network (AGFNN)
- 12 Dr Adam Heaton
- 13 Mr Benjamin Cronshaw
- 14 Mr Ganur Maynard
- 15 Barngarla Determination Aboriginal Corporation
- **16** Change the Record
- 17 Dr Alice Taylor and Assistant Professor Narelle Bedford
- 18 Friends of the Earth Australia
- 19 Liberty Victoria
- 20 Responsible Investment Association Australasia
- 21 Australian Council of Superannuation Investors (ACSI)
- 22 Dr Harry Hobbs
- 23 Mr David Noonan
- 24 President of Norfolk Island People for Democracy (NIPD)
 - Attachment 1
- 25 Mr Peter Remta
- 26 Australian Food Sovereignty Alliance
- 27 Ms Janet Donnelly
- 28 First Languages Australia
- 29 Dr Shelley Bielefeld
 - Attachment 1
 - Attachment 2
 - Attachment 3
 - Attachment 4
- 30 NSW Council for Civil Liberties
- 31 Conservation Council
 - Attachment 1
 - Attachment 2

- Attachment 3
- 32 Kimberley Community Legal Services
- 33 Castan Centre for Human Rights Law
- 34 Nunkuwarrin Yunti of South Australia Inc.
- 35 Ms Lydia McGrady
- 36 Centre for Law and Social Justice, University of Newcastle
- 37 Josephite SA Reconciliation Circle
- 38 Name Withheld
- 39 Confidential
- 40 Confidential
- 41 Gudanji For Country
- 42 Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation (ANTaR)
- 43 Edmund Rice Centre for Justice and Community Education
- 44 Emeritus Professor Jon Altman
- 45 Mr Dominic WY Kanak
- 46 Environmental Justice Australia
- 47 North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (NAAJA)
- 48 Accountable Income Management Network (AIMN)
- 49 NSW Aboriginal Land Council
- 50 Ms Tara Ali, Ms Monica Dalton and Professor Asmi Wood
- 51 Mr Yingiya Guyula MLA
- **52** National Association of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers and Practitioners
- 53 Australian Human Rights Commission
- 54 Victorian Aboriginal Child Care Agency (VACCA)
- 55 Ibbai Waggan-Wiradjuri People
- 56 South Australia Aboriginal Community Controlled Organisation Network (SAACCON)

Additional Information

- 1 Two justice systems working together Report on the recognition of local Aboriginal laws in sentencing and bail; received from the Northern Territory Law Reform Committee on 13 April 2022
- 2 Final report Mandatory sentencing and community-based sentencing options; received from the Northern Territory Law Reform Committee on 13 April 2022