### © Commonwealth of Australia 2018

ISSN: 2206-4036 (Print)

ISSN: 2206-4044 (Online)

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3823 Fax: 02 6277 5767

Email: <a href="mailto:human.rights@aph.gov.au">human.rights@aph.gov.au</a>

Website: <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/joint">http://www.aph.gov.au/joint</a> humanrights/

This document was prepared by the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

## **Committee information**

# **Current members (June 2018)**

Mr Ian Goodenough MP, Chair Moore, Western Australia, LP

(14.09.16-present, Chair from 14.09.16-present)

Mr Graham Perrett MP, Deputy Chair Moreton, Queensland, ALP

(06.02.13-05.08.13 and 15.09.16-present)

Mr Russell Broadbent MP McMillan, Victoria, LP

(14.09.16-present)

Senator Carol Brown Tasmania, ALP

(01.07.14-present)

Senator Lucy Gichuhi South Australia, LP

(05.02.2018-present)

Ms Madeleine King MP Brand, Western Australia, ALP

(15.09.16-present)

Mr Julian Leeser MP Berowra, New South Wales, LP

(14.09.16-present)

Senator Nick McKim Tasmania, AG

(12.09.16-present)

Senator Claire Moore Queensland, ALP

(01.07.14 to 09.05.16 and from 15.09.16-present)

Senator James Paterson Victoria, LP

(12.09.16-present)

#### Former members 2016-17

Senator Richard Di Natale Victoria, AG

(12.12.16)

Senator Sarah Hanson-Young South Australia, AG

(02.02.17)

Senator Linda Reynolds CSC Western Australia, LP

(12.09.16-05.02.18)

Senator Rachel Siewert Western Australia, AG

(03.02.17)

## Secretariat 2016-17<sup>1</sup>

Ms Toni Dawes, Committee Secretary
Ms Zoe Hutchinson, Principal Research Officer
Ms Jessica Strout, Principal Research Officer
Dr Kate Mitchell, Principal Research Officer
Ms Shennia Spillane, Principal Research Officer
Ms Nicola Knackstredt, Principal Research Officer
Ms Mayuri Anupindi, Principal Research Officer
Ms Eloise Menzies, Senior Research Officer
Mr Andrew McIntyre, Senior Research Officer
Ms Alice Petrie, Legislative Research Officer
Mr David Hopkins, Legislative Research Officer

## Secretariat for the preparation of the annual report

Ms Toni Dawes, Committee Secretary Ms Zoe Hutchinson, Principal Research Officer Dr Kate Mitchell, Principal Research Officer Mr David Hopkins, Legislative Research Officer

The human rights committee secretariat is staffed by parliamentary officers drawn from the Department of the Senate Legislative Scrutiny Unit (LSU), which usually includes two Principal Research Officers with specialised expertise in international human rights law. LSU officers regularly work across multiple scrutiny committee secretariats.