© Commonwealth of Australia 2017

ISSN: 2206-4036 (Print)

ISSN: 2206-4044 (Online)

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3823 Fax: 02 6277 5767

Email: human.rights@aph.gov.au

Website: http://www.aph.gov.au/joint_humanrights/

This document was prepared by the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

Committee information

Current members (December 2017)

Mr Ian Goodenough MP, Chair Moore, Western Australia, LP

(14.09.16-present, Chair from 14.09.16-present)

Mr Graham Perrett MP, Deputy Chair Moreton, Queensland, ALP

(06.02.13-05.08.13 and 15.09.16-present)

Mr Russell Broadbent MP McMillan, Victoria, LP

(14.09.16-present)

Senator Carol Brown Tasmania, ALP

(01.07.14-present)

Ms Madeleine King MP Brand, Western Australia, ALP

(15.09.16-present)

Mr Julian Leeser MP Berowra, New South Wales, LP

(14.09.16-present)

Senator Nick McKim Tasmania, AG

(12.09.16-present)

Senator Claire Moore Queensland, ALP

(01.07.14 to 09.05.16 and from 15.09.16-present)

Senator James Paterson Victoria, LP

(12.09.16-present)

Senator Linda Reynolds CSC Western Australia, LP

(12.09.16-present)

Former members 2015-16

Senator Dean Smith (Chair) Western Australia, LP

(20.08.12-09.05.2016, Chair from 05.12.13-04.03.15)

The Hon Philip Ruddock MP (Chair)

Berowra, New South Wales, LP

(03.03.15-09.05.2016, Chair 04.03.15-09.05.2016)

Mr Laurie Ferguson MP (Deputy Chair) Werriwa, New South Wales, ALP

(04.12.13-09.05.2016)

Senator Carol Brown Tasmania, ALP

(01.07.14-present)

Senator Matthew Canavan Queensland, NAT

(01.07.14-09.05.2016)

Dr David Gillespie MP Lyne, New South Wales, NAT

(04.12.13-09.05.2016)

Ms Cathy McGowan AO MP Indi, Victoria, IND

(14.05.15-09.05.2016)

Senator Nick McKim Tasmania, AG

(10.9.15-present)

Senator Claire Moore Queensland, ALP

(01.07.14-present)

Senator Barry O'Sullivan Queensland, NAT

(23.02.16-15.03.16)

Mr Tony Pasin MP Barker, South Australia, LP

(12.10.15-22.10.15)

Senator James Paterson Victoria, LP

(15.03.16-present)

Mr Michael Sukkar MP Deakin, Victoria, LP

(22.10.15-09.05.2016)

Senator Penny Wright South Australia, AG

(22.03.12-10.09.15)

Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP Hasluck, Western Australia, LP

(14.03.12-12.10.15)

Secretariat 2015-16¹

Mr Ivan Powell, Committee Secretary

Ms Zoe Hutchinson, Principal Research Officer

Mr Matthew Corrigan, Principal Research Officer

Ms Anita Coles, Principal Research Officer

Mr Harry Hobbs, Acting Principal Research Officer

Ms Jessica Strout, Acting Principal Research Officer

Ms Eloise Menzies, Senior Research Officer

Ms Alice Petrie, Legislative Research Officer

Secretariat for the preparation of the annual report

Ms Toni Dawes, Committee Secretary

Ms Zoe Hutchinson, Principal Research Officer

Ms Eloise Menzies, Senior Research Officer

Ms Alice Petrie, Legislative Research Officer

Mr David Hopkins, Legislative Research Officer

The human rights committee secretariat is staffed by parliamentary officers drawn from the Department of the Senate Legislative Scrutiny Unit (LSU), which usually includes two Principal Research Officers with specialised expertise in international human rights law. LSU officers, including the Committee Secretary, regularly work across multiple scrutiny committee secretariats.