Appendix 6

Treasury Portfolio Structure and outcomes (current)

Portfolio Minister — Treasurer The Hon Joe Hockey MP Minister for Small Business The Hon Bruce Billson MP Assistant Treasurer Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer The Hon Steven Ciobo MP

Department of the Treasury Secretary: Dr Martin Parkinson

Informed decisions on the development and implementation of policies to improve the wellbeing of the Australian people, including by achieving strong, sustainable economic growth, through the provision of advice to government and the efficient administration of federal financial relations

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Acting Statistician: Mr Jonathan Palmer Informed decisions, research and discussion within governments and the community by leading the collection, analysis and provision of high quality, objective and relevant statistical information

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Chairman: Mr Rod Sims

Lawful competition, consumer protection, and regulated national infrastructure markets and services through regulation, including enforcement, education, price monitoring and determining the terms of access to infrastructure services

Australian Office of Financial Management

Chief Executive Officer: Mr Rob Nicholl The advancement of macroeconomic growth and stability, and the effective operation of financial markets, through issuing debt, investing in financial assets and managing debt, investments and cash for the Australian Government

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority

Chairman: Dr John Laker AO (until 30 June 2014)

Mr Wayne Byres (from 1 July 2014)

Enhanced public confidence in Australia's financial institutions through a framework of prudential regulation which balances financial safety and efficiency, competition, contestability and competitive neutrality

Australian Securities and Investments Commission

Chairman: Mr Greg Medcraft

Improved confidence in Australia's financial markets through promoting informed investors and financial consumers, facilitating fair and efficient markets and delivering efficient registry systems

Australian Taxation Office

Commissioner: Mr Chris Jordan AO Confidence in the administration of aspects of Australia's taxation and superannuation systems through helping people understand their rights and obligations, improving ease of compliance and access to benefits, and managing non-compliance with the law

Clean Energy Finance Corporation

Chief Executive Officer: Mr Oliver Yates Facilitate increased flows of finance into Australia's clean energy sector, applying commercial rigour to

investing in renewable energy, low-emissions and energy efficiency technologies, building industry capacity, and disseminating information to industry stakeholders

Treasury Portfolio Structure and outcomes (continued)

Commonwealth Grants Commission

Secretary: Mr John Spasojevic

Informed Government decisions on fiscal equalisation between the States and Territories through advice and recommendations on the distribution of GST revenue and health care grants

Corporations and Markets Advisory Committee

Convenor: Ms Joanne Rees

Informed decisions by Government on issues relating to corporations regulation and financial products, services and markets through independent and expert advice

Inspector-General of Taxation

Inspector-General: Mr Ali Noroozi Improved tax administration through community consultation, review and independent advice to Government

National Competition Council

President: Mr David Crawford

Competition in markets that are dependent on access to nationally significant monopoly infrastructure, through recommendations and decisions promoting the efficient operation of, use of and investment in infrastructure

Office of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board

Chairman: Ms Merran Kelsall

The formulation and making of auditing and assurance standards that are used by auditors of Australian entity financial reports or for other auditing and assurance engagements

Office of the Australian Accounting Standards Board

Chairman: Mr Kevin Stevenson

The formulation and making of accounting standards that are used by Australian entities to prepare financial reports and enable users of these reports to make informed decisions

Productivity Commission

Chairman: Mr Peter Harris Well-informed policy decision-making and public understanding on matters relating to Australia's productivity and living standards, based on independent and transparent analysis from a community-wide perspective

Royal Australian Mint

Chief Executive Officer: Mr Ross MacDiarmid The coinage needs of the Australian economy, collectors and foreign countries are met through the manufacture and sale of circulating coins, collector coins and other minted like products

Source: Treasury portfolio, Portfolio Budget Statements 2014-15, pp 6-7.