

28 June 2019

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan President of the Senate

### Report

Dear Mr President

Pursuant to Standing Order 38(7), I present a Report of the Senate Select Committee into Fair Dinkum Power (committee).

On 28 November 2018, the Senate established the committee to inquire and report by 30 June 2019. The committee received a total of 44 submissions and held one public hearing in Sydney on 18 March 2019. A list of submissions appears in Appendix 1 and witnesses who appeared at the public hearing are listed in Appendix 2.

Due to the prorogation of Parliament and the election, the committee has not been able to complete its inquiry and report as intended.

The committee recommends the Senate re-establish the committee in the 46<sup>th</sup> Parliament, with provision to access the documents and evidence of this committee, to enable the inquiry to be completed.

Yours sincerely

Senator Sarah Hanson-Young Chair

# Appendix 1

# Submissions and additional information received by the committee

$\alpha$	1	•	•	
Su	hn	าเร	SI	ons

16

17

The Australia Institute

Subii	
1	Deakin University
2	Climate Change Balmain-Rozelle
3	Mr Peter Lane
4	CSIRO
5	Environment Victoria
6	Mr Gary Rowbottom
7	Goulburn Broken Greenhouse Alliance
8	Queensland Tourism Industry Council
9	Mr Geoffrey Miell
	9.1 Supplementary submission
	9.2 Supplementary submission
10	Climate Action Hobart
11	Enel X Australia
12	Eastern Alliance for Greenhouse Action
13	Australian Energy Council
	13.1 Supplementary submission
	13.2 Supplementary submission
14	Meridian Energy Australia
15	Australian Alliance for Energy Productivity
16	Energy Developments Ltd (EDL)

18	AGL Energy
19	Energy Networks Australia
20	Public Interest Advocacy Centre
21	ERM Power
22	Clean Energy Council
23	Clean Energy Finance Corporation
24	ANLEC R&D
25	Mr Robert Beatty
26	100% Renewable Energy Group, ANU
27	Planet Ark Power
28	1414 Degrees
29	Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union
30	Northern Alliance for Greenhouse Action
31	Mr Graeme Weber
32	Australian Energy Market Commission
33	Name Withheld
34	Australian Renewable Energy Agency
35	Community Power Agency
	35.1 Supplementary submission
36	Energy Locals
37	Electrical Trades Union of Australia
38	Professor Simon Bartlett
39	Hon. Wilson Tuckey
40	Australian Council of Social Service
41	Mr Mike Cannon-Brookes

- 42 Mr Tim Kelly
  - 42.1 Supplementary submission
- 43 Tesla
- 44 Mr Malcolm Moore

### **Answers to Questions taken on Notice**

- Clean Energy Council, answer to question taken on notice from a public hearing in Sydney on 18 March 2019, received 21 March 2019.
- The Australia Institute, answer to question taken on notice from a public hearing in Sydney on 18 March 2019, received 2 April 2019.

## Appendix 2

## **Public hearing**

Monday 18 March 2019 Macquarie Room NSW, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney

#### Witnesses

#### **Clean Energy Council**

Mr Kane Thornton, Chief Executive Officer

#### **Energy Networks Australia**

Mr Andrew Dillon, Chief Executive Officer Dr Stuart Johnson, Principal, Future Networks

#### **Australian Energy Market Commission**

Mrs Anne Pearson, Chief Executive Dr Tim Nelson, Executive General Manager, Strategy and Economic Analysis

#### **Clean Energy Finance Corp**

Mr Simon Every, Head of Government and Stakeholder Relations

#### The Australia Institute

Mr Richie Merzian, Director, Climate and Energy Program Mr Dan Cass, Energy Policy and Regulatory Lead