Β

Appendix B – Public hearings

Thursday, 26 March 2015 – Canberra

Phosphate Resources Limited

• Mr Kevin Edwards, Chief Operating Officer and Company Secretary

Wednesday, 8 April 2015 – Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Shire of Cocos (Keeling) Islands

- Mr Aaron Bowman, Chief Executive Officer
- Mr Zak Lakina, Acting President
- Councillor John Clunies-Ross

Persatuan Kebudayaan Pulu Kokos

• Mrs Danie Olbio (Nek Namira), Secretary

Cocos Keeling Islands Tourism Association

• Mrs Juliane Bush, Marketing Manager

Australian Federal Police

• Acting Sergeant Kyle Saltmarsh, Officer in Charge

Private capacity

Mr Keir Fraser

Office of the Administrator of the Indian Ocean Territories

• Mr Barry Haase, Administrator

Community statements

- Mr Colin Bloomfield, private capacity
- Mr John Clunies-Ross, private capacity
- Ms Darling Elat, Member, Seniors Group
- Mr Signa Knight, private capacity, through translator Mr Minkom

Thursday, 9 April 2015 – Christmas Island

Christmas Island Women's Association

- Ms Regine Andersen, Secretary
- Ms Nora Koh, President

Shire of Christmas Island

- Councillor Gordon Thomson, President
- Mr Kelvin Matthews, Chief Executive Officer

Union of Christmas Island Workers

• Mr Gordon Thomson, General Secretary

Christmas Island Tourism Association

• Ms Karenn Singer, Manager

Malay Association of Christmas Island

• Mr Mohammed Dardak, Member

Christmas Island Islamic Council

• Mr Zainal Abdul Majid, President

Indian Ocean Group Training Association

- Mr Daniel Becker, General Manager
- Mr Chris Su, Chairperson

Private capacity

• Mr Noel (Alan) Thornton

Arts and Culture Christmas Island

• Ms Patricia Power, Chairperson

Office of the Administrator of the Indian Ocean Territories

• Mr Barry Haase, Administrator

Friday, 10 April 2015 – Christmas Island

Softstar Pty Ltd

• Mr Michael Asims, Owner's representative

Community statements

- Mr Kamala Alagadorai, private capacity
- Mr Ron Lines, private capacity
- Mr Hafiz Masli, private capacity
- Mr Kelvin Matthews, private capacity
- Ms Trish O'Donnell, private capacity

- Mr John Richardson, private capacity
- Mr Billy Tan, private capacity
- Mr Stephen (Steve) Watson, private capacity

Friday, 8 May 2015 - Perth

Mining to Plant Enterprises (MINTOPE) project

• Mr Neil Ballard, Cropping and Procurement Manager

Regional Development Australia Mid-West Gascoyne

• Mr Alan Bradley, Executive Officer

St John Ambulance

Mr Justin Fonte, Operations Manager, Country Ambulance Service

Private capacity

- Dr Martin Drum, private capacity
- Mr Russell Payne, private capacity
- Mr Rahmat Madi Signa, private capacity

Thursday, 14 May 2015 – Canberra

Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development

- Ms Robyn Fleming, Executive Director, Local Government and Territories Division
- Ms Karen Lindsay, Acting General Manager, Jervis Bay and Indian Ocean Territories Branch

Thursday, 25 June 2015 – Canberra

Northern Bay Pty Ltd

• Mr Bjarne (John) Sorensen, Director (via teleconference)

Parks Australia

• Ms Sally Barnes, Director of National Parks

Department of Immigration and Border Protection

- Mr Neil Skill, First Assistant Secretary, Detention Services Division
- Ms Fatime Shyqyr, Assistant Secretary, Detention Infrastructure Branch

Thursday, 13 August 2015 – Canberra

Tourism Australia

- Mr Tim Mahony, Government and Media Relations Manager
- Mr Leigh Sorensen, General Manager, Industry Relations

Christmas Island Tourism Association

- Ms Karenn Singer, Manager (via teleconference)
- Ms Lisa Preston, Chairperson (via teleconference)

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Tourism Association

- Mr Dieter Gerhard, Chairperson (via teleconference)
- Mrs Dianne Evans, Visitor Centre Manager (via teleconference)

Thursday, 20 August 2015 – Canberra

Shire of Christmas Island

- Councillor Gordon Thomson, President (via teleconference)
- Mr Kelvin Matthews, Chief Executive Officer (via teleconference)

Shire of Cocos (Keeling Islands

- Mr Aaron Bowman, Chief Executive Officer (via teleconference)
- Councillor John Clunies-Ross (via teleconference)

Thursday, 10 September 2015 – Canberra

Mining to Plant Enterprises (MINTOPE) Project

• Mr Herve Calmy, Project Manager (via teleconference)

Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development

- Ms Robyn Fleming, Executive Director, Local Government and Territories Division
- Mrs Karen Lindsay, Acting General Manager, Jervis Bay and Indian Ocean Territories Branch

Thursday, 17 September 2015 – Canberra

Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

- Mr Colin Neave, Commonwealth Ombudsman
- Mr Richard Glenn, Deputy Ombudsman
- Mr Simon Passlow, Assistant Director

Global Enterprises Group Pty Ltd

• Mr James Clarke, Managing Director (via teleconference)

Thursday, 15 October 2015 – Canberra

Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development

- Ms Robyn Fleming, Executive Director, Local Government and Territories Division
- Ms Karly Pidgeon, General Manager, Jervis Bay and Indian Ocean Territories Branch

Thursday, 12 November 2015 – Canberra

Private capacity

- Mr Jonathan (Jon) Stanhope
- The Hon Brian Lacy
- Mr Barry Haase (via teleconference)

Monday, 23 November 2015 – Canberra

Air Timor

• Mr Edward Turner, Chief Operating Officer (via teleconference)

Thursday, 3 December 2015 – Canberra

Private capacity

- Mr Julian Yates
- Mr Stephen Clay
- Mr Barry Haase (via teleconference)