

Appendix D—Witnesses who appeared at public hearings

Canberra, Wednesday, 18 June 2014

Arab Bank Australia

Mr Joseph Rizk, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Canberra, Wednesday, 25 June 2014

Australia Arab Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mr Geoffrey Puttick, National Chairman Mrs Suzannah Moss-Wright, Chief Executive Officer Mr Robert Newton, National Board Member

Canberra, Wednesday, 16 July 2014

Dearin & Associates

Ms Cynthia Dearin, Managing Director

Canberra, Wednesday, 27 August 2014

CSIRO

Ms Elizabeth Yuncken, International Advisor, Europe, India and the Middle East Dr Paul Hardisty, Director, Land and Water Flagship

Canberra, Wednesday, 3 September 2014

Universities Australia

Ms Ainslie Moore, Policy Director, International Ms Keely Dreghorn, Policy Analyst, International Ms Sarah Brown, Policy Director, Research

Sydney, Tuesday, 9 September 2014

Seventh Sense

Mr Ibrahim Awad, Managing Director and Owner Mr Naim Safi, Business Development Manager

Hassad Australia

Mr Mark Barber, Manager Strategy, Planning and Executive Projects Mrs Melissa Scardino, Legal Counsel and Company Secretary

Australian Meat Industry Council

Mr David Larkin, Chairman, Australian Processing Council Mr Stephen Martyn, National Director Processing

Fletcher International Exports

Mr Graham Lyon, Manager Middle East

Bank of Sydney

Ms Julie Elliott, Chief Executive Officer Mr Ashley Bakes, Head of International Trade

The Links Group

Mr David Mitford-Burgess, Consultant

Consulate General of Egypt

Mr Aiman Mostafa Elabd, Commercial Minister Plenipotentiary for Australia and New Zealand

Mr Ramzy Mansour, Member, Australian Parliamentary Study Group, New South Wales Parliament

Mr Lorenzo Montesin, Chairman, Bibliotheca Alexandria, Australian friends of the Alexandria Library

Meat and Livestock Australia

Dr Peter Barnard, General Manager, Trade and Economic Services

Mr Lachlan Bowtell, Regional Manager Australia

Mr Peter Dundon, Manager, Livestock Exports

Sheepmeat Council of Australia

Mr Jeffrey Murray, Vice President

Australia Arab Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mr Paul Morris, National Director

Mrs Suzannah Moss-Wright, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Nick Tana, Member

Mr Barry Buss, Member

Australian Livestock Exporters' Council

Mr Peter Kane, Chairman

Ms Alison Penfold, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Graham Daws, Member

University of Sydney

Professor Philippa Pattison, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Leanne Piggott, Director, Business Education, University of Sydney Business School and Chair of Middle East Advisory Group

Canberra, Wednesday, 24 September 2014

Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies, Australian National University

Professor Matthew Gray, Associate Professor

Dr Raihan Ismail, Associate Lecturer

Dr Zahra Taheri, Persian Program Convener

Canberra, Wednesday, 1 October 2014

Export Council of Australia

Mr Stephen Deady, Director

Melbourne, Friday 17 October 2014

Ego Pharmaceuticals

Mr Alan Oppenheim, Managing Director

Australian Turntable Company

Mr Paul Chapman, Executive Chairman

<u>Meateng</u>

Mr Stephen Harvey, Managing Director

Centre for Citizenship and Globalisation, Deakin University

Professor Shahram Akbarzadeh, Deputy Director International

Australian Dairy Industry

Mr Chris Griffin, Board Member, Australian Dairy Farmers

Mr David Losberg, Senior Policy Manager, Australian Dairy Farmers

Mr Charlie McElhone, General Manager, Trade and Industry Strategy, Dairy Australia

Monash University

Professor Abid Khan, Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Global Engagement)
Dr Nizar Farjou, Associate President, Middle East, North Africa and Central Asia

Victorian Government

Ms Marion Van Rooden, Deputy Secretary, Department of State Development, Business and Innovation

Mr John Butler, Commissioner for Victoria to the Middle East, Africa and Turkey Mr Tim Ada, Executive Director of Trade and Investment, Department of Environment and Primary Industries

Mainstream Aquaculture

Dr Paul Harrison, Director and Head of Aquaculture

Canberra, Wednesday, 29 October 2014

Emirates Airline & Group

Mr Will Löfberg, Vice President, International, Government & Environment Affairs

Mr Trent Mumford, Manager, International & Government Affairs

Canberra, Wednesday, 26 November 2014

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Marc Innes-Brown, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Middle East and Africa Division

Austrade

Mr Grame Barty, General Manager, Growth and Emerging Markets

Canberra, Wednesday, 3 December 2014

Department of Agriculture

Mr Greg Read, First Assistant Secretary, Exports Division

Mr Tim Chapman, First Assistant Secretary, Biosecurity Animal Division

Mrs Ann McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Exports Standards Branch, Exports Division

Mr Simon Murnane, Assistant Secretary, Bilateral Engagement and Regional Trade Negotiations Branch, Trade and Market Access Division

Mr Jim Paradice, Acting Assistant Secretary, Live Animal Exports

Ms Patrycia Stone, Director, Live Animal Export Reform Taskforce

Mr Paul Vitolovich, Director, Live Animal Export Reform Taskforce

Ms Patricia Gleeson, Senior Economist, Commodities, ABARES

Canberra, Wednesday, 11 February 2015

Diplomatic representatives of Middle Eastern countries

HE Dr Hassan El-Laithy, Ambassador, Embassy of the Arab Republic of Egypt HE Mrs Rima Alaadeen, Ambassador, Embassy of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

Mr Zaid Al-Harb, Third Secretary, Embassy of the State of Kuwait

Mr Milad Raad, Charge d'Affaires a.t., Embassy of Lebanon

Mr Ismaili Rachid, Charge d'Affaires at interim, Embassy of the Kingdom of Morocco

Mr Mohamed Al-Jabir, Charge d'Affaires, Embassy of State of Qatar

HE Mr Nabil Lakhal, Ambassador, Embassy of the Republic of Tunisia

Mr Amadeldin Mohamed, Political Analyst, Embassy of the United Arab Emirates

Canberra, Wednesday, 4 March 2015

Department of Immigration and Border Protection

Mr Jim Williams, First Assistant Secretary, Visa and Citizenship Management Ms Sophie Montgomery, Assistant Secretary, Mobility Branch, Immigration and Citizenship Policy Division

Canberra, Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Tourism & Transport Forum

Mr Justin Wastnage, Aviation Policy

Canberra, Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Department of Industry and Science

Mr Peter Chesworth, Head, Sectoral Growth Policy Division
Mr Paul Trotman, General Manager, Trade and International Branch
Dr Gino Grassia, General Manager, Energy Security Branch
Mr Karl Brennan, Manager, Trade Policy Section

Canberra, Wednesday, 13 May 2015

AustraBlend & AustraHort Pty Ltd

Mr Michael Farrar, Managing Director

Dearin & Associates

Ms Cynthia Dearin, Managing Director

Canberra, Wednesday, 24 June 2015

Australia Saudi Business Council

Mr Tom Harley, Chairman

Canberra, Wednesday, 9 September 2015

Australian Food and Grocery Council

Mr Gary Dawson, Chief Executive Officer Mr Michael Rogers, Manager, Agribusiness Forum

Canberra, Wednesday, 14 October 2015

AUSTAL

Mr Dave Shiner, Vice President, International Sales and Marketing

Canberra, Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Export Finance and Insurance Corporation

Mr Andrew Hunter, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Mr John Hopkins, General Counsel and Board Secretary Mr Dougal Crawford, Senior Adviser, External Relations

Canberra, Wednesday, 2 December 2015

Aspen Medical

Mr Bruce Armstrong, Chief Executive Officer Professor Andrew Walker, Cofounder and Executive Chairman Mr Glenn Keys, Cofounder and Executive Director