

Appendix B - Public Hearings

Wednesday, 15 July 2020 - Canberra

Australian National University

 Professor John Blaxland, Professor of International Security and Intelligence Studies, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Private capacity

- Ms Genevieve Feely
- Ms Lisa Sharland

World Citizens Association of Australia

Associate Professor Christopher John Hamer, President

Lowy Institute

Mr Jonathan Pryke, Director, Pacific Islands Program

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Gerald Thomson, First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Bilateral Division
University of Adelaide

Professor Joanne Wallis, Professor of International Security

Thursday, 16 July 2020 - Canberra

CARE Australia

- Ms Roslyn Dundas, Advocacy Manager
- Dr Anuradha Mundkur, Head of Gender Equality

Department of Defence

- Air Commodore Stephen Edgeley, Director-General, Pacific and Timor-Leste Branch
- Mr Hugh Jeffrey, First Assistant Secretary, International Policy Division

The Institute of Regional Security

■ Mr Chris Gardiner, Chief Executive Officer

Private capacity

■ Dr Theresa (Tess) Newton Cain

Western Sydney University

■ Ms Leanne Smith, Director, Whitlam Institute

Friday, 4 September 2020 – Canberra

Roundtable

Kiribati

- Mr Ierevita Biriti, Acting Director for Business Promotion Centre, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives
- Ms Angoango Fakaua, Trade Officer, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives,
- Mr John Mote, Officer Commanding Police Maritime, Kiribati Police Service
- Mrs Donna Tekanene, Senior Trade Officer, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives
- Mr Reetaake Takabwere, Deputy Commissioner of Police, Kiribati Police Service
- Mr Teata Terubea, Director, Asia Pacific Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Immigration
- Ms Nanoua Tiroi, Desk Officer, Asia Pacific Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Immigration

New Caledonia

 Dr Yves Lafoy, Counsellor and Official Representative of New Caledonia to Australia

New Zealand

- Captain Shaun Fogarty, New Zealand Defence Adviser
- HE Hon Dame Annette Faye King, High Commissioner
- Ms Abigail Poole, Second Secretary, Political

Papua New Guinea

- Colonel Mark Goina, Defence Attaché
- HE Mr John Ma'o Kali, High Commissioner
- Mr Sakias Tameo, Deputy High Commissioner

Independent State of Samoa

- Ms Rona Meleisea-Chewlit, Deputy High Commissioner
- HE Ms Hinauri Petana, High Commissioner
- Mr Henry Tunupopo, Vice Consul, Trade

Solomon Islands

- HE Mr Robert Sisilo, High Commissioner
- Mr Walter Diamana, Deputy High Commissioner

Kingdom of Tonga

- Mr Curtis Leonard Tuihalangingie, Deputy Head of Mission
- Mr Tasimani Duifken Telefoni, Third Secretary, High Commission

Republic of Vanuatu

- HE Mr Samson Vilvil Fare, High Commissioner
- Mr Evaristo Chalet, Second Secretary