

Appendix D—List of Public Hearings

Melbourne, Tuesday, 17 November 2015

Australian Drug Foundation

Mr John Rogerson, Chief Executive Officer

Castan Centre for Human Rights Law

Mr Adam Fletcher, Research Fellow

Human Rights Law Centre

Ms Emily Howie, Director of Advocacy and Research

Law Council of Australia and Australian Bar Association

Ms Fiona Margaret McLeod, Treasurer, Law Council of Australia; President, Australian Bar Association

Dr Natasha Lee Molt, Senior Policy Lawyer, Criminal and National Security Law

Private Capacity

The Hon Justice Lex Lasry AM QC

Mr Richard Burke

Mr Ricky Gunawan

Ms Mary Farrow

Mr Julian McMahon

Mr Michael O'Connell

Ms Alex Wilson

Reprieve

Ms Sally Warhaft, Vice-President Ms Ursula Noye, Board Member

World Coalition Against the Death Penalty

Prof Peter Norden, Australian Representative

Sydney, Friday, 20 November 2015

Amnesty International

Ms Stephanie Cousins, Government Relations Manager Ms Rose Kulak, Individuals at Risk Program Coordinator Mr Karamzo Saccoh, Government Relations Coordinator

Australian Parliamentarians Against the Death Penalty

Mr Chris Hayes MP, Co-Chair

Commonwealth Lawyers Association

Mr Ronald Heinrich AM, Executive Committee Member

Falun Dafa Association of Australia Inc

Dr Lucy Zhao, President Mr John Deller, Secretary Ms Caroline Dobson, Research Coordinator

University of Western Sydney

Professor Steven Freeland, Professor of International Law Dr Catherine Renshaw, Senior Lecturer

UnitingJustice Australia

Reverend Elenie Poulos, National Director Ms Aletia Dundas, Policy Officer

Canberra, Friday, 27 November 2015

Australians Against Capital Punishment

Ms Ruth Birgin

Australian Catholic Bishops Conference

Mr Jeremy Stuparich, Public Policy Director

Australian Federal Police

Deputy Commissioner Leanne Close, Deputy Commissioner Operations Assistant Commissioner Scott Lee, Assistant Commissioner International Operations

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Catherine Hawkins, First Assistant Secretary, International Crime Cooperation Division

Mr Chris Collett, Assistant Secretary, Transnational Crime and Corruption Branch

Civil Liberties Australia

Dr Kristine Klugman, President Mr William Rowlings, Chief Executive Officer

Private capacity

Mr Gary Humphries

Dr Daniel Charles Pascoe

Professor Donald Rothwell

University of Birmingham

Dr Bharat Malkani, Lecturer

University of Newcastle Law School

Dr Amy Maguire, Lecturer

Sydney, Wednesday, 9 December 2015

Australian Catholic University

Professor Gregory Craven, Vice-Chancellor

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Dr Lachlan Strahan, First Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Policy Division Mr Joshua House, Executive Officer, Human Rights and Indigenous Issues Section, Human Rights Branch, Multilateral Policy Division

Human Rights Watch

Mr Phil Robertson, Deputy Director, Asia Division

University of New South Wales

Professor Andrew Byrnes, Diplomacy Training Program

Canberra, Thursday, 25 February 2016

Parliamentarians for Global Action

Dr David Cattin, Secretary-General Ms Maia Trujillo, Campaign Manager

Canberra, Monday, 29 February 2016

World Coalition Against the Death Penalty

Mr Raphael Chenuil-Hazan, Executive Director and Vice President, Ensemble Contre la Peine de Mort (ECPM) — Together Against the Death Penalty

Canberra, Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Asia Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions

Mr Kieren Fitzpatrick, Director

Mr Greg Heesom, Legal Counsel

Canberra, Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Royal Norwegian Embassy

Ms Unni Kløvstad, Ambassador

Ms Kaja Glomm, Deputy Head of Mission

All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Abolition of the Death Penalty

Mr Mark Pritchard, MP, Chair

Dr Paul Monaghan MP, Vice-Chair

Lord Jeremy Purvis, Member

Mr Frank Warburton, Consultant