

Appendix B - hearings and witnesses

Wednesday 5 February 2020 - Canberra

Commonwealth Department of Education, Skills and Employment

Mr Iain Barr, A/g Assistant Secretary, Wellbeing & Engagement Branch
Mr Dom English, First Assistant Secretary, Higher Education Division
Mr David Pattie, First Assistant Secretary, Improving Student Outcomes Division

Wednesday 12 February 2020 - Canberra

Country Education Partnership

Mr Phillip Brown, Executive Officer
Ms Ellie Jones, Rural Youth Ambassador Alumni, Rural Inspire
Ms Jemma Walsh, Rural Youth Ambassador Alumni, Rural Inspire

Wednesday 26 February 2020 - Canberra

Association of Heads of Independent Schools Australia

Ms Beth Blackwood, Chief Executive Officer

Wednesday 26 August 2020 - Canberra

Roundtable on School Education

Association of Independent Schools Northern Territory

Mrs Gail Barker, Executive Director

Pivot Professional Learning

Ms Amanda Bickerstaff, Chief Executive Officer

Association of Independent Schools Western Australia

Mrs Valerie Gould, Executive Director

National Catholic Education Commission

Mr Peter Hamill, Deputy Director

Australian Education Union

Ms Correna Haythorpe, Federal President

Department of Education, Skills and Employment

Ms Renae Houston, First Assistant Secretary, VET Quality and Policy Division

Ms Katerina Lawler, Assistant Secretary, Policy and Regulation Branch

Mr David Pattie, First Assistant Secretary, Improving Student Outcomes Division

Mr Mark Sawade, First Assistant Secretary, Funding and Data Collection

Ms Linda White, Assistant Secretary, Workforce and Apprenticeships Industry Branch

Australian Secondary Principals Association

Mr Andrew Pierpoint, President

Australian Education Union

Mr Jarvis Ryan, President, Northern Territory Branch

Roundtable on Further Education

La Trobe University

Professor John Dewar AO, Vice-Chancellor

South West Institute of TAFE

Dr John Flett, Executive Manager, Education, and Acting Manager, Strategic Projects, Grants and Research

Online Education Services

Ms Sue Kokonis, Executive Director, Academic

Australian Technology Network of Universities

Mr Luke Sheehy, Executive Director

Charles Sturt University

Professor Janelle Wheat, Acting Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)

Wednesday 2 September 2020 - Canberra

Roundtable on Early Childhood Education

Secretariat of National Aboriginal and Islander Child Care

Mr John Burton, Social Policy Manager

Mr Richard Weston, Chief Executive Officer

Goodstart Early Learning

Ms Myra Geddes, General Manager, Social Impact

Community Connections Solutions Australia

Mrs Meg Mendham, Chief Executive Officer

Early Childhood Australia

Ms Samantha Page, Chief Executive Officer

Roundtable on Barriers to Education

Speech Pathology Australia

Ms Jane Delaney, Senior Advisor, Early Childhood and Education Ms Gail Mulcair, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Human Rights Commission

Mr Nick Devereaux, Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Ms June Oscar, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner Ms Susan Newell, Senior Policy Officer, Children's Rights Team

World Vision Australia

Ms Teresa Hutchins, Manager Program Development and Effectiveness, Australia First Nations Program

Dr Scott Winch, First Nations Senior Policy Adviser

Children and Young People with Disability Australia

Ms Maeve Kennedy, Policy and Program Manager

Ms Mary Sayers, Chief Executive Officer