

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMICS

REVIEW OF THE FOUR MAJOR BANKS AND OTHER FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS **SMALLER BANKS SECTOR**

Australian Banking Association

ABA02QON:

Question:

Ms HAMMOND: You said the big four banks have been pushing least-cost routing or offering it to all of their customers. Who owns EFTPOS? Am I correct in thinking that it is the big four banks?

Ms Bligh: Yes, but not on their own. I don't want to mislead the committee. There are a couple of very big retailers. From memory, I think it's Wesfarmers or Woolworths. I'd be happy to provide that to you. EFTPOS, BPAY and the New Payments Platform all have multiple owners, and the banks are all part-owners of all of them. So, yes, EFTPOS does have ownership by, I think, just the four majors, but there are other significant retailers in there as well.

Answer:

EFTPOS has a range of members, most recently listed in the recent merger application to the ACCC:

- 1. ANZ
- 2. CBA
- 3. NAB
- 4. Westpac
- 5. Bendigo & Adelaide Limited
- 6. Cuscal Limited
- 7. Citigroup Pty Limited8. ING Bank (Australia) Ltd
- 9. ASL
- 10. Indue Limited



- 11. Woolworths Group Limited
- 12. Coles Group Limited
- 13. Bank of Queensland Limited
- 14. EFTEX Pty Limited
- 15. First Data Network Australia Limited t/a Fiserv
- 16. Suncorp Metway Ltd
- 17. Tyro Payments Limited
- 18. Windcave Pty Ltd
- 19. Adyen Australia Pty Limited