

#### HEARING PROGRAM

### **Budget Estimates 2024-25**

Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee

Tuesday, 28 May – Friday, 31 May 2024 **Main Committee Room (MCR)**, Parliament House, Canberra

Times listed are indicative only



#### **Hearing location**

Main Committee Room (MCR), Parliament House, Canberra

Waiting rooms: Committee Room 1S2, MCR Waiting

Room 1, MCR Waiting Room 2

Waiting overflow room: Committee Room 1S3



#### **Broadcasts of proceedings**

Television channel 110
Radio 92.7
https://www.aph.gov.au/Watch Read Listen



#### **Contact**

legcon.sen@aph.gov.au +61 2 6277 3560

#### **Committee rooms**

Main Committee Room (MCR): (02) 6277 5840 Committee Room 1S2: (02) 6277 5849 MCR Waiting Room 1: (02) 6277 4440/4245 MCR Waiting Room 2: (02) 6277 2346/5839 Committee Room 1S3: (02) 6277 5845



#### **Committee members**

Senator Nita Green, Chair Senator Paul Scarr, Deputy Chair Senator Varun Ghosh Senator Helen Polley Senator David Shoebridge Senator Alex Antic

#### Ministers attending

Senator the Hon Murray Watt Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm

#### Secretariat

Sophie Dunstone, Committee Secretary Joshua Start, Estimates Officer



#### **Questions on notice**

Written questions on notice should be provided to the secretariat by **14 June 2024.** 

Answers to questions taken on notice are due to the committee by **25 July 2024.** 

### Home Affairs Portfolio

	ITS POPUONO				
9.00am	National Emergency Management Agency				
10.30am	Morning tea				
10.45am	National Emergency Management Agency (continued)				
11.30am	Department of Home Affairs (incl. Australian Border Force) Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters				
12.30pm	Lunch				
1.15pm	Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters (continued)				
2.15pm	Outcome 1: Protect Australia from national security and criminal threats, and support national resilience, through effective national coordination, policy and strategy development, and regional cooperation  1.1 Transport Security 1.2 National Security and Resilience 1.3 Cyber Security 1.4 Counter Terrorism 1.5 Regional Cooperation				
3.15pm	Afternoon tea				
3.30pm	Outcome 1 (continued)				
6.30pm	Dinner				
7.15pm	Outcome 2: Support a prosperous and united Australia through effective coordination and delivery of immigration and social cohesion policies and programs  2.1 Migration  2.2 Visas  2.3 Refugee Humanitarian, Settlement and Migrant Services  2.4 UMA Offshore Management  2.5 Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship				
10.15pm	Adjournment				

# Wednesday, 29 May

### Home Affairs Portfolio

9.00am	Department of Home Affairs (incl. Australian Border Force) Outcome 2 (continued)
10.00am	Morning tea
10.15am	Outcome 3: Advance a prosperous and secure Australia through trade and travel facilitation and modernisation, and effective customs, immigration, maritime and enforcement activities across the border continuum  3.1 Trade Facilitation and Industry Engagement 3.2 Border Management 3.3 Border-Revenue Collection 3.4 Border Enforcement 3.5 Onshore Compliance and Detention
12.30pm	Lunch
1.15pm	Outcome 3 (continued)
2.45pm	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
4.30pm	Afternoon tea

## Attorney-General's Portfolio

4.45pm	Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
6.15pm	Dinner
7.00pm	Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC)
8.00pm	Australian Law Reform Commission
8.45pm	Australian Financial Security Authority

9.30pm	Independent National Security Legislation Monitor
10.15pm	Adjournment

# Thursday, 30 May

Attorney-General's Portfolio

	eneral's Portfolio			
9.00am	Attorney-General's Department Cross-portfolio, corporate and general matters			
11.00am	Morning tea			
11.15am	Justice and Communities Group - Encompassing: First Nations and Justice Policy Division (Criminal Justice Reform Taskforce, Native Title and Priority Reforms Branch, Office of Constitutional Law, Legal Assistance Branch); Courts, Tribunals and Commercial Division (Courts and Tribunals Branch, Judicial Commission Taskforce, Commercial and Copyright Law Branch); Children and Families Division (Family Law Branch, Family Safety Branch, National Office for Child Safety); and Administrative Review Taskforce (Legislation Branch, Implementation Branch).			
12.30pm	Lunch			
1.15pm	Justice and Communities Group (continued)			
3.15pm	National Security and Criminal Justice Group – Encompassing: International and Security Cooperation Division (International Cooperation Unit, Pacific Branch, Cybercrime and Cross Border Data Branch, Identity and Biometrics Policy); Criminal Justice Division (Criminal Law Policy Branch, Transnational Crime Branch, Electronic Surveillance Branch); and Security and Counter-Terrorism Division (Security Law and Policy Branch, High Risk Terrorist Offenders Branch, National Security Information Branch).			
4.15pm	Afternoon tea			
4.30pm	National Security and Criminal Justice Group (continued)			
6.30pm	Dinner			
7.15pm	Integrity and International Group – Encompassing: Integrity Frameworks Division (Fraud Prevention and Anti-Corruption Branch, Information Law Branch, Transparency and Administrative Law Branch); International Law and Human Rights Division (General Counsel, Office of International Law, Human Rights Branch, Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking Branch); Legal Services and Royal Commission Division (Royal Commissions Branch, Office of Legal Services Coordination, Office of Corporate Counsel); and Royal Commission into Defence and Veteran Suicide (Operations, Research, Data and Investigations, Policy).			
10.15pm	Adjournment			

# Friday, 31 May

Attorney-General's Portfolio

Tittorney-O	eneral's Portiollo
9.00am	Administrative Appeals Tribunal
10.00am	National Anti-Corruption Commission
10.45am	Morning tea
11.00am	Australian Human Rights Commission  Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM, President Ms Katie Kiss, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner Mr Robert Fitzgerald AM, Discrimination Commissioner Ms Anne Hollonds, Children's Commissioner Ms Rosemary Kayess, Disability Discrimination Commissioner Ms Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner Mr Giridharan Sivaraman, Race Discrimination Commissioner Dr Anna Cody, Sex Discrimination Commissioner
12.45pm	Lunch
1.30pm	Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
2.00pm	Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
3.00pm	Australian Federal Police
3.30pm	Afternoon tea
3.45pm	Australian Federal Police (continued)
6.30pm	Dinner
7.15pm	Inspector of the National Anti-Corruption Commission

7.45pm	Office of the Special Investigator
8.15pm	Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
8.45pm	Federal Court of Australia
9.30pm	Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia
10.15pm	Adjournment