Appendix 1

Witnesses who appeared before the committee¹

The committee held two full day hearings and one part day hearing focusing specifically on the issue of black lung on 7 and 8 March and 23 March 2016.

Monday, 7 March 2016 - Brisbane

Mr Percy Verrall, Private capacity
Mrs Daphne Verrall, Private capacity
Mr Ian Hiscock, Private capacity

Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand

Associate Professor Deborah Yates, Occupational and Environmental Special Interest Group Convener

Dr Ryan Hoy, Convenor, Occupational Lung Disease, Special Interest Group

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Dr Richard Slaughter, Representative Mr Mark Nevin, Senior Executive Officer

Mining panel

Vale Australia

Mr Andrew Vella, General Manager, Operations and SSE Carborough Downs Dr Edward Foley, Nominated Medical Advisor - Carborough Downs

¹ The hearings and witnesses listed in this appendix relate to the committee's hearing on 7 and 8 March and 23 March 2016 which focussed on black lung and related issues. A full list of the committee's hearings and witnesses is at the committee's website:

www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate/Health/Health/Public_Hearings.

Anglo American Coal

Mr Mike Oswell, Head of Safety and Sustainability

Dr Rob McCartney, Resile Occupational and Environmental Physician, Coal

Australia Chief Medical Officer

Ms Liz Sanderson, Occupational Health Specialist

Mr Dan Proffitt, Mine Operations Manager, Grasstree Mine

CFMEU Mining and Energy Division

Mr Andrew Vickers, General Secretary

Mr Steve Smyth, District President

Mr Jason Hill, Industry safety and health Representative

Queensland Resources Council

Mr Michael Roche, Chief Executive

Ms Judy Bertram, Director, Community, Skills and Safety Policy

Ms Liz Sanderson, Technical Expert – Industry

Mr Nev McAlary, Technical Expert - Industry

Review of Coal Miners' Health Scheme

Professor David Cliff, Independent Chair

Monash University

Professor Malcolm Sim, Director, Centre for Occupational and Environmental Health Associate Professor Deborah Glass

Department of Natural Resources and Mines

Mr James Purtill, Director-General

Queensland Health

Dr Jeannette Young, Chief Health Officer and Deputy Director-General, Prevention Division

Ms Sophie Dwyer, Executive Director, Health Protection Branch, Prevention Division

Tuesday, 8 March 2016 – Mackay

Mr Keith Stoddart, Private capacity

Mrs Danielle Stoddart, Private capacity

NSW Coal Services

Ms Lucy Flemming, Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer
Mr Mark O'Neill, General Manager, Coal Services Health
Mr Matthew Fellowes, General Manager, Mines Rescue and Regulation and
Compliance

Mackay Hospital and Health Service

Adjunct Associate Professor David Farlow

Mr Chris Carter, Private capacity

Review of Coal Miners' Health Scheme

Professor Robert Cohen, Review Team Expertise

Wednesday, 23 March 2016 - Campbelltown

University of Wollongong

Dr Brian Plush, Particulate Matter Scientist
Dr Ting Ren, Associate Professor in Mining Engineering

Department of Natural Resources and Mines

Ms Rachel Cronin, Deputy Director-General Minerals and Energy Resources Mr Russell Albury, Acting Chief Inspector of Coal Mines