Appendix 2

Public hearings

Parliament House, Canberra, 12 April 2017

Committee members in attendance: Senators McKenzie, Marshall and Cameron.

Witnesses

Council of Small Business Australia

Mr Peter Strong, Chief Executive Officer

Professor Andrew Stewart, private capacity

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Trevor Clarke, Director, Legal and Industrial

Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees Association

Mr Gerard Dwyer, National Secretary

Franchise Council of Australia

The Hon Bruce Billson, Executive Chair Mr Damian Paull, Chief Executive Officer Mr Stephen Giles, Director

National Retailers Association

Ms Dominique Lamb, Chief Executive Officer

WEstjustice

Ms Tarni Perkal, Senior Solicitor Employment Project

Department of Employment

Ms Kelly Hoffmeister, A/g Chief Counsel, Workplace Relations Legal Group Dr Alison Morehead, Group Manager, Workplace Relations Policy Group Ms Jody Anderson, Branch Manager Ms Rachel Volzke, Senior Executive Lawyer

Fair Work Ombudsman

Ms Natalie James, Fair Work Ombudsman Mr Michael Campbell, Deputy Fair Work Ombudsman

Fair Work Commission

Ms Ailsa Carruthers, Acting General Manager Mr Murray Furlong, Director Tribunal Services Mr Brendan Hower, Manager, Member Support Team Tribunal Services

Sydney, New South Wales, 13 April 2017

Committee members in attendance: Senators McKenzie, Marshall, Cameron and Rhiannon.

Witnesses

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Ms Alana Matheson, Deputy Director Workplace Policy Mr Dick Grozier, Associate Director Workplace Policy

Ai Group

Mr Stephen Smith, Head of National Workplace Relations Policy Mr Brent Ferguson, National Manager, Workplace Relations Advocacy and Policy

Mr Gerard de Valence, private capacity

Australian Federation of Employers and Industries

Mr Garry Brack, Chief Executive Officer